2016 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2016 Acura MDX

$25,024 - $38,472  MSRP Range
2016 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

64 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 64 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

New 2016 MDX Advanced package.

by C&H Man from Phoenix, AZ on Tue Apr 26 2016

After leasing and 03 & 07 MDX we have return to Acura and are now leasing an 2016 MDX Advanced. This is the most technologically advanced SUV we have driven. I would recommend to the world how good this MDX handles and performs on the roads. Looking forward to happy miles with the MDX. I would recommend this MDX since it practically drives itself with interactive cruise control and lane departure option. Test drive one and you will see! I would like to give a shout out to Tempe Acura. Sales force and finance managers were gracious and easy to work with.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

2016 MDX - JUNK

by MDX driver from Lake Elmo on Fri May 19 2017

I have had my car for 20 months - I have had it in the shop for issues including a new transmission. Brake issues. I have had nonstop issues. Trouble accelerating on the highway. I am disappointed with my 3rd Acura.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lomg term performance

by MDX forever from Clarence Center, New York on Tue Aug 04 2015

Still own a 2001 MDX with 256,000 basically care free miles. Could not resist purchase of a new MDX!!!! Its great and has all the modern technology.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best used space ever!

by Nixx82 from Mukwonago, WI on Thu Sep 28 2017

This MDX has the 3 rows to accommodate 7 passengers. It is perfect for my family of 4 and if the 2 kids have friends or we carpool for sports. The back seat is comfortable for adults as well as a "normal" sized adult such as myself. Could be cramped if you're over 5'10". Awesome comfort, excellent quality interior/exterior. I just LOVE my 2016 MDX. I owned a 2005 TSX prior and traded for this!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

4th Acura hard to beat for the price

by Utah rides from Salt Lake, Utah on Mon Nov 23 2015

Looked at this and the Lexus GX side by side in the end there was no comparison. The Acura MDX is above the grade in technology and inside interior. The push button 2nd row seats make it easy for any child to get in the 3rd row. I have had 2009 and 2011 MDX and the power difference and with sport suspension makes it seem so much faster in this new model. The handling of the MDX is so much better as well on the road. My wife is taking my MDX anytime she can.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Happy car owner

by Bandi from Anacortes, Wa. 98221 on Fri May 06 2016

Still learning about Acura MDX's controls and navigation systems. I expected better written documentation for seniors who are not as computer literate as our offspring. Learning by doing is painfully slow without adequate instruction. We love the car which is both comfortable and easy to drive but the instructions provided are below par for an octogenarian without formal computer skills.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura MDX 2016

by Mr. Rey from Dumfries, Va on Thu Apr 20 2017

My MDX is the most reliable car I've ever owned. I've had it for almost 2 years and never experienced any problem at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i've owned

by walter P from Brooklyn, NY on Mon Mar 20 2017

very reliable car ,well made the price is a little steep and I wish that the driver had a little more legroom, overall a very sporty machine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most car for the investment I've owned.

by SUV Believer from St. Albans, WV 25177 on Tue Sep 08 2015

This vehicle is the best I've owned for the following: 1. Smooth ride. 2. Safety features. 3. Exterior/interior appointments. 4. Overall design. 5. Technology.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Car I've Owned

by Kim from Marietta, GA on Sat Jun 24 2017

This car has met all needs I have. I own an interior decorating company and this car is able to fit lots of merchandise while still having space to seat 5 passengers. For long road trips, this car is fun to drive, gets great gas mileage, fits my family of 5 with plenty of space for luggage. We have the 2016 MDX with Advance Package. It is so comfortable and by far the best car I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2016 Acura MDX

A fully loaded 2016 Acura MDX was impressive when chauffeuring around my own children and a few others, but was more pleasantly surprising when I pushed its performance on solo drives.

When it comes to luxury SUVs for families, the seven-seat Acura MDX has been a favorite almost since the day it went on sale. Redesigned from the ground up for 2014, the 2016 MDX gets a new nine-speed automatic transmission and a few other minor changes in what was already widely considered the top of its class. You can compare the 2016 and 2015 models here.

Exterior & Styling
Acura's design is certainly modern, and on this large of a vehicle it looks quite handsome. The MDX won't stand out in a parking lot or school... Read More