2016 MDX

Consumer Reviews

2016 Acura MDX

$17,276 - $31,096  MSRP Range
2016 Acura MDX

Review Score

4.5 out of 5 stars

4.5

103 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Acura MDX?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 103 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

4th Acura hard to beat for the price

by Utah rides from Salt Lake, Utah on Mon Nov 23 2015

Looked at this and the Lexus GX side by side in the end there was no comparison. The Acura MDX is above the grade in technology and inside interior. The push button 2nd row seats make it easy for any child to get in the 3rd row. I have had 2009 and 2011 MDX and the power difference and with sport suspension makes it seem so much faster in this new model. The handling of the MDX is so much better as well on the road. My wife is taking my MDX anytime she can.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Happy car owner

by Bandi from Anacortes, Wa. 98221 on Fri May 06 2016

Still learning about Acura MDX's controls and navigation systems. I expected better written documentation for seniors who are not as computer literate as our offspring. Learning by doing is painfully slow without adequate instruction. We love the car which is both comfortable and easy to drive but the instructions provided are below par for an octogenarian without formal computer skills.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Favorite Car I've Owned

by Kim from Marietta, GA on Sat Jun 24 2017

This car has met all needs I have. I own an interior decorating company and this car is able to fit lots of merchandise while still having space to seat 5 passengers. For long road trips, this car is fun to drive, gets great gas mileage, fits my family of 5 with plenty of space for luggage. We have the 2016 MDX with Advance Package. It is so comfortable and by far the best car I've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best used space ever!

by Nixx82 from Mukwonago, WI on Thu Sep 28 2017

This MDX has the 3 rows to accommodate 7 passengers. It is perfect for my family of 4 and if the 2 kids have friends or we carpool for sports. The back seat is comfortable for adults as well as a "normal" sized adult such as myself. Could be cramped if you're over 5'10". Awesome comfort, excellent quality interior/exterior. I just LOVE my 2016 MDX. I owned a 2005 TSX prior and traded for this!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second MDX

by jvb8 from on Sun Apr 23 2017

I owned a 2005 MDX I bought in 2008 for years. Loved it. Reliable, drove well in the snow and comfortable for long rides. I checked out a few other SUV's when looking for a new one. Found myself back at the MDX. I already knew it was good in the snow and that is a must because of my job. What stood out for me was the comfort, known reliability and compared to other SUV's in the price range, I really felt it was worth every dollar. I think it looks okay, a little boring, but in the end that did not matter to me. It is also great on gas for such a large vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect for my family!

by Nixx82 from Mukwonago, WI on Fri Sep 08 2017

I was in the hunt for a 3 row SUV. I had 6 initially, I then was down to 2 quite fast. This vehicle is perfect for my family of 4. So when I car pool I have the room of a minivan without driving the minivan. I love my Acura currently and previously.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most car for the investment I've owned.

by SUV Believer from St. Albans, WV 25177 on Tue Sep 08 2015

This vehicle is the best I've owned for the following: 1. Smooth ride. 2. Safety features. 3. Exterior/interior appointments. 4. Overall design. 5. Technology.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I've owned MDX's in the past and was looking to up

by Golfer from Pleasant Prairie on Wed Dec 12 2018

I was specifically looking at the 2016 model because of the features it offered. The Volvo dealership gave me an opportunity to make my dream come true. In fact, I had so much confidence in them after my initial visit, that I came down to Florida from Wisconsin to purchase the car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura MDX 2016

by Mr. Rey from Dumfries, Va on Thu Apr 20 2017

My MDX is the most reliable car I've ever owned. I've had it for almost 2 years and never experienced any problem at all.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car i've owned

by walter P from Brooklyn, NY on Mon Mar 20 2017

very reliable car ,well made the price is a little steep and I wish that the driver had a little more legroom, overall a very sporty machine

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2016 Acura MDX

A fully loaded 2016 Acura MDX was impressive when chauffeuring around my own children and a few others, but was more pleasantly surprising when I pushed its performance on solo drives.

When it comes to luxury SUVs for families, the seven-seat Acura MDX has been a favorite almost since the day it went on sale. Redesigned from the ground up for 2014, the 2016 MDX gets a new nine-speed automatic transmission and a few other minor changes in what was already widely considered the top of its class. You can compare the 2016 and 2015 models here.

Exterior & Styling
Acura’s design is certainly modern, and on this large of a vehicle it looks quite handsome. The MDX won’t stand out in a... Read More