NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
1999 TL

Consumer Reviews

1999 Acura TL

$1,196 - $5,240  MSRP Range
1999 Acura TL

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

25 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 1999 Acura TL?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 25 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Just okay

by Honda Lover from on Wed Feb 09 2011

I wanted a Acura TL and I got one. I love the brand but not okay with this particular car. Purchased it from Lexus of Tacoma I had to replace the timing belt and water pump a week after I bought it. Had a bad ignition switch that had to be replaced because the car was shutting off while I was driving on the freeway at 70mph. Now that's fixed and it's running great but the check engine light won't go off and neither will the TCS light.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car i have ever owned or driven.

by JayDubbs from Albany ny on Sun Nov 04 2018

Bought this car from the original owner with 119k miles on it over a year and a half ago. Absolutely love it...for a 99 it has almost every function you would want heated seats and mirrors, power everything, can control the radio from the steering wheel. It has such a smooth ride but also has a lot of power as well with out being a gas hog. Like other reviews have said if you take care of it then it'll take care of you. I've owned cars 9 years newer than this one that didn't drive and ride half as nice as this one. Also the bose sound system sounds amazing i get compliments on it all the time. I plan on this car lasting well beyond 300k.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

GREAT CAR

by Little lexi from Central, New Jersey on Mon Jan 30 2012

I purchased my TL a few months ago it is great witheverything and even has the modern features of the cars today! It just isn't the best on gas.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Owned Yet!

by TL Lover from Washington, DC on Sat Dec 09 2006

Bought it used with 75k miles and love it!! Have put about 60k miles on it and have only had to do brakes and tires. Fantastic car that is fun to drive, holds it value well, and will go to 300k miles and more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Sports Car Enthusiast in WI from WI on Mon Sep 28 2009

It is so comfortable. It is very reliable. It is FAST! It handles awesome. I don't have a bad thing to say about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car

by TL Owner from Los Angeles, CA on Tue Jul 11 2006

I have owned this car for 7 years and it continues to run perfectly. I have had no problems with the car during this time. The seats are very comfortable, but I have noticed that the quality of the leather on newer models is superior. The weakest part of this car is its interior styling and quality. Objectively, the interior is still very good, but stylistically, its age is now apparent. Excellent performance and handling, given you are not expecting it to be a serious sports car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Acura reliability at its best!

by Brian from Olympia, WA on Wed Jul 26 2006

I have owned this car for almost 5 years and absolutely love to drive it! I handles fantastic, has great acceleration for passing on the highway and still gets 27+ miles to the gallon! The interior is very functional but stylish at the same time. The sound system from Bose is outstanding. I can't say enough good things about this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

VEEERRYYY RELIABLE & COMFORTABLE

by Bug from texas on Thu Jun 30 2011

Bought this car from a friend over 5 yrs ago, i am second owner, know original owner, bought for $3000.00 with 218000k miles. changed timing belt & pump. Now has 340,000k. runs excellent, give no problem would not trade for nothing. bought 2009 honda accord. 2009 runs rough & loud & not as comfortable. I have anothe 200,000 k to put on. Don't bother about the check engine light etc, etc, reliability great. make sure oil & water or coolant in radiator & ck trans fluid u will be fine.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by BobbyLZ from Texas on Thu Oct 09 2014

Bought it two years ago with 160,000 miles on it from a caring one-owner, hit a deer 15,000 miles later, rebuilt it and it just clicked over 190,000. What an awesome, reliable car. Lots of power, excellent handling. I would drive it from one end of the country to the other without a second thought.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've ever owned!

by Beck from West New York, NJ on Sun Jan 04 2009

I've owned my Acura for 6 years now and I've put more than 100K miles on it since purchasing it in 2003. With minimal service (Brakes, oil and a few minor sensor problems) the car still runs great at 136K mi. While the suspesion/handling is not as tight as it was a few years ago, the engine is phenomenal. I can still jump into traffic with confidence and accelleration from 40 to 70 is fantasitc. We have a 2008 Lexus IS 250 and the Acura is by far more powerful and more comfortable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3

Our Take on the 1999 Acura TL

Think of how often you're commanded to do, or not to do, things.

No parking, no right turn on red, one way, school zone 15 mph. It's enough to make you want to drive somewhere to get away from it all.

Then you get it in your car. Like a spouse, it tells you where to go.

"In one mile make a right turn" it says.

Oy, not again.

But, like the satellite navigation system, an option in Honda's newest sports sedan, the new TL is not just another Acura.

The styling of this car gives little hint about its true nature. Up front a large chrome grille recalls a similar look that's prevalent on lesser Hondas. Out back, the trunk lid is tailored in a fashion similar to Acura Legends, a model name no... Read More