Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2011 Avalanche

Consumer Reviews

2011 Chevrolet Avalanche

$12,655 - $27,971  MSRP Range
2011 Chevrolet Avalanche

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

35 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2011 Chevrolet Avalanche?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Avalanche LTZ

by First SUT from Baltimore, MD on Tue Apr 05 2011

Purchased a new 2011 Chevrolet Avalanche LTZ 4 wheel drive in Taupe Gray. The Avalanche is the prefect blend of a truck and a SUV. Exterior - The LTZ adds just enough chrome to accent the muscular appearance of the vehicle without making it seem gaudy. The 20 inch rims are wrapped in massive 275/55/20 all season rubber. The paint samples in the brochure do not do this vehicle justice. Spend time driving to dealers and look at all the colors in person. The color we choose looks nothing in person like the little color swatch on the brochure. For example, the Taupe Gray is very deep with hints of light blue and red metallic flack, that pops out in direct sunlight and looks fantastic with the Avalanche appearing to change color depending on the lighting. Interior - The LTZ package gives you the impression you are in a luxury car. The heated and cooled seats are a wonderful touch. The interior is very spacious. The "fun and sun" package includes a sunroof and rear seat DVD player is worth every penny. The gauges are well thought out and the drivers information center displays a lot of useful data like trans temp (when towing), average fuel economy, instant fuel economy (v8 and v4 mode), trip, oil life and engine hours. From the drivers seat you have a commanding view of the road. It should be noted that rear visibility is lacking but is easily rectified with the back up camera and auto tilt side mirrors that angle down to show you the parking lines and curb when backing up. The back up camera is a must for a person not accustomed to driving such a large vehicle. The back seats fold down and the entire rear of the vehicle opens up to extend the rear bed into the interior compartment. Another nice feature is the rear window and be removed to allow for an almost convertible feel when all the windows and the sunroof is open. The drivetrain is similar to that found in the Silverado, Tahoe and Suburban. The 5.3L V8 provides enough thrust to adequately accelerate onto the freeway. The towing capacity, while less than the Silverado (9,600 vs. 8,100) is still more than adequate when equipped with the HD trailer package. The 6 speeds automatic is geared well to the intended application but the shifts are lazy at best. The "air ride" suspension that is standard on the LTZ soaks up the bumps and dips with ease and allows for load leveling when hauling a heavy load. The 4 wheel drive system gives you a 2 Hi, 4 Auto, 4Hi, & 4Lo options. All these systems work flawlessly when called upon. Gas mileage (15 City and 21 highway) is not bad as most people would think given all the utility this vehicle as to offer and the amount of weight this vehicle carries. The instant fuel economy gauge goes a long way in helping you adjust your driving style to achieve your best MPG. On an extended highway trip the 31 gallon fuel tanks makes it so you'll need to stop for a bathroom break before you need to fill up again. Price is a little on the high side but if you time your purchase right (like waiting for a "Truck Month" promotion) you can easily purchases these vehicles for thousands below MSRP. Bottom line: This is a vehicle your family will fall in love with.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice truck

by Urban cowboy from Urbandale, IA on Mon Mar 05 2012

I recently traded in a 2006 King Ranch F 150 for this 2011 Avalanche. I've only owned it about a month and only driving about 2,500 miles, but so far I've been very pleased. In my old F 150 I was only getting about 12 mpg around town and 15 - 16 mpg on highway. With Avalanche, I'm getting a solid close to 16 mpg around town and got 20 mpg on a 250 interstate drive. It is a noticeable upgrade in fuel economy from old truck. It is a nicer, quieter ride too. Feels less like a truck than old one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best large truck/SUV I've owned

by Leon from Newport Beach, CA on Fri Dec 14 2012

So impressed with the Avalanche LTZ. I've owned Mercedes ML, GL & Range Rover and overall performance dominates the Rover and ML at about 30k less. The Avalanche doesn't handle like a truck at all. It's very smooth, clean and quiet. It's turning radius is fantastic for a large vehicle and creature comforts are great and really close to par with Mercedes & RR. It's super roomy too and great for weekend jobs and family campouts. Better jump on the 2013's because this will be the last model year.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Geat Truck

by Avalanche Fan from Ohio on Mon Mar 12 2012

Just got a used 2011. I owned a 2002 for 8 years and it was very reliable. This is the first time I've bought the same model truck. My 2002 was such a good truck, I had to go for another one. The 2011 has improved engine performance and fuel milage. So far very happy with it. Would highly recommend the Avalanche.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2011 Avalanche great vehicle so far

by Tony from Olathe, KS on Mon Apr 16 2012

I really like the flexibility the vehicle provides. Rides as nice as the 2008 Denali I had and offers me pick up flexibility. I would definately recomend the vehicle so far. It is pricey, and gas milage isnt great, but I think you expect both when buying this caliber of vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first truck and it's the best!!!!

by jlk from arkansas on Tue Jun 14 2011

this is the best car period, i have ever owned. i wish would have bought this truck eight years ago.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Not Sure

by TheeIvoG from Menasha, WI on Sat Aug 12 2017

I like the Truck. The look. The styling. I like the options it came with. But, I brought it used and look into the problems. The reason? I smell burning fluid. not sure what it is yet but looking into it as the time of this writing. I read lot of things. Will update.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

buddy

by buddy from rapid city sd on Thu Apr 10 2014

one of the best trucks i have ever owned excellent gas milage. LTZ MODEL IS WORTH THE MONEY I went to MARTHALER CHEVY OF GLENWOON MN AND SAVED $9000

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

by Redwings Fan from Colorado springs, CO on Sun Aug 19 2012

Love my new Avalanche - second one I've owned So sad they will be ending production! or I would be buying another in a few years

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by AZOutdoors from Scottsdale, AZ on Fri Aug 01 2014

I looked for a long time at crew cab trucks before narrowing down to the Avalanche. The Avalanche has the comfortable ride of an SUV with the flexibility of a truck. The fold-away rear seats and folding rear cab access provide more cargo space than a long-bed truck. I am pleasantly surprised how well it maneuvers for a full-size truck. I definitely recommend the rear parking sensors and review camera for backing. If you find one without them, they can be easily added after-market. This is a versatile truck, that rides and drives like a full-size SUV. My daily ride is a luxury sedan and I find myself looking for reasons to "need" to drive the Avalanche.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4