2006 Impala

Consumer Reviews

2006 Chevrolet Impala

$1,546 - $8,834  MSRP Range
2006 Chevrolet Impala

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

90 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2006 Chevrolet Impala?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 90 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

210k and still running

by KenFu from Pasadena, MD on Thu Jan 02 2014

I bought my '06 Impala in Sep '06 with 15k miles on it and I'm still running it with 210k miles now. The maintenance costs have been relatively low but are creeping up which I assume is due to the high mileage and the fact that I can't always afford the crazy high prices of repair shops. I have the LT and it's a fairly vanilla car, but that's ok with me. It has done it's job and then some. I'll run it till the wheels fall off.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impala is an enjoyable car

by yak from Green Bay, WI on Mon Jun 11 2007

Pros: Good gas milage -- The last 200 mile trip @ 55mph, I got 38.6 mpg on 87 octane gas from Shell. Typically @ 65 mph, I will get 32-35 mpg. Better than advertised. Gas milage seems to have improved over time -- currently the car is at 44,000 miles. Quiet ride with good amount of power. Comfortable seats with a lot of legroom. Trunk has a lot of room. Cons: Cornering is not as nice as a Grand Prix GT. The temp controls are not driver friendly at all. While wearing gloves, you can't feel the position of the temp control, so you have to LOOK at it with your eyes. A simple knob would have been much better -- left is cold, right is hot. The windshield wiper speed control has virtually no difference between OFF and the 1st setting, so if you want to turn it down to position 1, you have no way of telling if it is at 1 or OFF, unless you LOOK at it. I end up turning it all the way to off, then back up one notch to 1. Once again, this control needs a way to tell without eyeballing it. The OnStar button on the rearview mirror is very easy to press accidently when you are adjusting the mirror. No I don't want more phone minutes, I just want to see behind me! I can't tell if this was clever marketing or a design mistake.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sedan

by Patrick from NH on Thu Feb 11 2010

My family has owned two Impalas. The first was a 2001 and never had any problems with it. The second is a 2006 LT. Its a great car. Great on fuel, virtually no maintainence issues. And it really moves! alot faster than the Ford Taurus we had.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

not reliable

by unhappy from michigan on Fri Mar 27 2015

I like the car after rebuilding the trans that was slipping at 69,000 miles. Rebuilt tranny at 150,000 miles and put a used motor in shortly after that. Have read many complaints about this auto trans. I had a bad lifter in my motor and it scored my cam. The knocking started way earlier than i had it replaced. Bought it with 67,000 miles and paid 6,700 dollars, good thing. I have 12,000 tied up in it. Nice car otherwise, but this lack of good engineering cant be ignored easily. I dont recommend this vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

just bought a 06 chevey inpala lt

by mike from flushing,queens ,ny on Mon May 21 2012

so far so good i just bought it today,and i like it so far.37k miles and 2006 for 7000.car had minor accidents in front and back got the machinace check it out its ok.and am just happy to have this car but a little dissapointed with the 18 mpg.other that that its all ok.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

it's got it all

by gmas59 from monticello , mn on Wed Mar 28 2012

The vechile has most of the goodies with up graded wheels and it's been one of the most if not the most reliable cars i've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

1 out of 5 stars

2006 Chevrolet Impala 3.5L V6

by 6 foot 2 Man from Des Moines, IA on Tue Feb 23 2010

Car worked ok until about 64,000 miles. At that time the head gasket failed, water pump gasket failed, water pump failed, lower coolant line was found to be leaking, oil pan gasket was leaking. GM definitely has some issues to fix in their cars. GM customer service when called was not helpful. It seemed that they did not want to listen to the issues. Local dealer repaired but the most friendly person that I dealt with throughout the whole ordeal was the secretary at the local dealership.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Dependable Car!

by Commuter in Idaho from Nampa, ID on Fri Aug 07 2009

I have had two Impalas over the years and have found them very reliable. I commute 120 each day and have never had any major issues with this car. Great hwy mileage. 34mpg. Great car!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great MPG for full size car!

by 9braines from Arlington Heights IL on Fri Aug 25 2006

I traded my Gas Guzzling SUV for this sleek, nimble, and reliable GM Certified Used-Car after researching all other cars in it's class. The Price was Right The MPG Was even more Right The Service From My GM Dealer, Lattoff Chev is superior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW!!

by Chevycamaro1891 from Inman, KS on Fri May 18 2012

This is a great car! Driven several just bought one and love it!! Way better than any comparing car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Our Take on the 2006 Chevrolet Impala

It's time to put to rest the well-entrenched consumer notion that Japanese cars are just naturally better than American cars.

Granted, the United States automakers dug their own hole, giving us years of not-so-great cars, allowing the Japanese to win over American buyers with superior products. But the playing field has nearly been leveled, and despite continuing consumer bias against American-brand cars, the U.S. automakers are ready to earn your trust and your business once again.

For example, for model year 2006, both General Motors and Ford have a number of excellent family cars that can hold their own in styling, performance and, most importantly, quality in comparison with their Japanese-brand competitors.

One... Read More