2006 Impala

Consumer Reviews
2006 Chevrolet Impala

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

85 Reviews
2006 Chevrolet Impala
4.1 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3.9 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

210k and still running

by KenFu from Pasadena, MD on January 2, 2014

I bought my '06 Impala in Sep '06 with 15k miles on it and I'm still running it with 210k miles now. The maintenance costs have been relatively low but are creeping up which I assume is due to the high mileage and the fact that I can't always afford the crazy high prices of repair shops. I have the LT and it's a fairly vanilla car, but that's ok with me. It has done it's job and then some. I'll run it till the wheels fall off.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Impala is an enjoyable car

by yak from Green Bay, WI on June 11, 2007

Pros: Good gas milage -- The last 200 mile trip @ 55mph, I got 38.6 mpg on 87 octane gas from Shell. Typically @ 65 mph, I will get 32-35 mpg. Better than advertised. Gas milage seems to have improved over time -- currently the car is at 44,000 miles. Quiet ride with good amount of power. Comfortable seats with a lot of legroom. Trunk has a lot of room. Cons: Cornering is not as nice as a Grand Prix GT. The temp controls are not driver friendly at all. While wearing gloves, you can't feel the position of the temp control, so you have to LOOK at it with your eyes. A simple knob would have been much better -- left is cold, right is hot. The windshield wiper speed control has virtually no difference between OFF and the 1st setting, so if you want to turn it down to position 1, you have no way of telling if it is at 1 or OFF, unless you LOOK at it. I end up turning it all the way to off, then back up one notch to 1. Once again, this control needs a way to tell without eyeballing it. The OnStar button on the rearview mirror is very easy to press accidently when you are adjusting the mirror. No I don't want more phone minutes, I just want to see behind me! I can't tell if this was clever marketing or a design mistake.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great value, low maint. costs and dependable

by Chevray from Upstate NY on June 18, 2014

2006 impala LT, 172K mi. and going strong. Bought it with 12K in early 2007. This car is not fancy nor particularly exciting to drive. But I can't understand the review calling this "junk", unless they've not kept up on regular maint., which is a must with any car. I currently have an engine light on due to transmission, but have driven this way uneventful for 20K plus miles. I live in brutal northeast winter cold, and this car has not let me down. Exceptional gas mileage for its size. Handles well, I've been able to stop and avoid major obstacles numerous times, very predictable.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

just bought a 06 chevey inpala lt

by mike from flushing,queens ,ny on May 21, 2012

so far so good i just bought it today,and i like it so far.37k miles and 2006 for 7000.car had minor accidents in front and back got the machinace check it out its ok.and am just happy to have this car but a little dissapointed with the 18 mpg.other that that its all ok.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

not reliable

by unhappy from michigan on March 27, 2015

I like the car after rebuilding the trans that was slipping at 69,000 miles. Rebuilt tranny at 150,000 miles and put a used motor in shortly after that. Have read many complaints about this auto trans. I had a bad lifter in my motor and it scored my cam. The knocking started way earlier than i had it replaced. Bought it with 67,000 miles and paid 6,700 dollars, good thing. I have 12,000 tied up in it. Nice car otherwise, but this lack of good engineering cant be ignored easily. I dont recommend this vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
1 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sedan

by Patrick from NH on February 11, 2010

My family has owned two Impalas. The first was a 2001 and never had any problems with it. The second is a 2006 LT. Its a great car. Great on fuel, virtually no maintainence issues. And it really moves! alot faster than the Ford Taurus we had.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

it's got it all

by gmas59 from monticello , mn on March 28, 2012

The vechile has most of the goodies with up graded wheels and it's been one of the most if not the most reliable cars i've owned.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WOW!!

by Chevycamaro1891 from Inman, KS on May 18, 2012

This is a great car! Driven several just bought one and love it!! Way better than any comparing car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My First Car

by First Time Car Buyer from Baltimore on February 24, 2012

I love it, it rides smooth as a baby's bottom. It is also reliable. I drove from Baltimore to Cincy and I commute to and from campus. Still runs good with 84k.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great MPG for full size car!

by 9braines from Arlington Heights IL on August 25, 2006

I traded my Gas Guzzling SUV for this sleek, nimble, and reliable GM Certified Used-Car after researching all other cars in it's class. The Price was Right The MPG Was even more Right The Service From My GM Dealer, Lattoff Chev is superior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9
Our Expert Review: 2006 Chevrolet Impala