2008 Avenger

Consumer Reviews
2008 Dodge Avenger

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

68 Reviews
2008 Dodge Avenger
4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.1 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.6 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3.9 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 68 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Looks great, surprisingly very gas friendly!

by Now a Dodge lover from Upstate NY on October 19, 2012

I bought my Used 2008 Avenger in the spring of 2010. I immediately was in love with the outside (I originally was thinking of a Charger). For a 4 cylinder it was powerful while still being gas friendly. Not only did I do city driving but I also took it on road trips from NY to VA several times and I never filled up more than twice, even with a uhaul trailer! I never ran into any problems with it except for whatever things happened with me. (I ran over debris and it ended up puncturing ther vapor chamber, someone backed into me etc) It looks great, great gas economy, comfortable (ive driven 10+ hours in it) And it is Super safe! I would know because I got into an accident where someone ran a redlight and T-boned me. Despite a fairly serious accident (windows broken, frame damaged, and side & curatin airbags deployed) I only ended up with a bruise on my thigh. It was totaled out and now im on a hunt for another! :) I would buy this for my children one day!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

47 out of 47 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Not what I bargained for

by Not a Happy Camper from Avon, MN on April 2, 2008

I purchased my Avenger in September and I have had one problem after the other. Some minor some not. The trunk leaked, the dome lights didn't work (which was a major fix with the electrical system). Just had it in to uninstall an auto start and reinstall a different one. It wouldn't work with the security. That's a full MN Winter without an auto start (Not a good time). I have had it in the shop a total of 32 days since I purchased it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I've ever owned.

by Steve from on July 30, 2013

SXT with a 2.4 L engine. Bought new in Dec. '07. Since then I've put 138,000 (mostly interstate) miles on it. Other than oil/air filter changes the only thing I've done to it is replace brake pads and front rotors and replace one ignition coil (total cost ifor the ignition coil including labor was $100). Car still looks and runs great. Ideal commuter car. Would buy another one in a heartbeat.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Snazzy

by Ozzie from Plattsmouth,NE on April 4, 2012

I love my Dodge Avenger. It looks hot inside and out and it runs great. The only downfall for me are the blindspots. They're not too bad when changing lanes, but backing out of a parking spot can be really nerveracking.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Fun little Car - With a decent amount of room

by Surprised Avenger Fan from Detroit, MI on March 26, 2007

I was looking for a good size car that was sporty and I found it! I own the 2008 Dodge Avenger R\T (3.5 V6) and I love it. Its fun and peppy especially if you play with the Autostick. The interior is quiet, rides good...the R\T has a stiffer suspension and handles very well for a mid size sedan. The only nit-picks I have are....I wish the brakes were a little more reponsive and I wish there was less hard plastics on the interior. I am 6'3" and I can sit in the back seat comfortably....thats a big plus. I commute 260 miles a day at 75mph and am pulling down 25+ MPG! Can't Beat it!

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable vehicle I've owned & economical

by Average Consumer from Rochester, New York on August 9, 2011

A great vehicle for traveling long distance. Great gas mileage. Comfortable and dependable on long distance driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Not What I expected to buy, but very satisfied!

by New Car Guy from Los Angeles, Ca on August 1, 2013

When I came on this website to search for a new car, this was not what i initially intended to be looking for. I previously owned a Lancer & was into other Lancer Evo's or Subaru's WRX.. Well, that all changed when I found my Avenger RT at a local dealership. Although its not as sporty as the cars I came here for, it offered me both a few other things I never considered. The Avenger RT gives me enough of the sporty look that I want, as well as the comfort of feeling like a luxury car. It also has tons of room in the cab & in the trunk. Kind of makes me feel like I'm finally maturing. :) All in all, its a great car with A LOT more interior features than I am accustomed to!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle for price .

by TH45 from Fresno,Ca on April 7, 2017

96000 miles and have done nothing but regular maintenance on it . Other than our 2000 Dodge Durango the most reliable vehicle we've ever owned .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice performance and comfort

by Matchell from Michigan on September 28, 2017

Overall this is not a bad car to own. I bought mine used and the previous owner did not treat it nicely so that might be my performance issues. The ride is very comfortable and as I have the R/T model is has great pick up and go.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best first car I could have gotten

by BPM on February 23, 2018

It runs well and is reliable for getting from A to B. It also works well for getting my siblings different places as well.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Our Expert Review: 2008 Dodge Avenger