2002 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews

2002 Dodge Ram 1500

$90 - $12,534  MSRP Range
2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Review Score

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

37 Reviews
86% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Dodge Ram 1500?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 37 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

very dependable after 100,000 miles

by carpenter john from alabama on Wed Nov 21 2007

I bought my truck with 100 thousand plus miles already on it. I could not believe the power the engine has and the comfort of the ride. The stereo system, power seats and extra storage space beneath the back seats made it perfect for those long rides to the job site. The next full size truck I own will definitely be a Dodge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

46 out of 46 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Dodge Ram Quad Cab

by Chevy Lover gone Dodge from on Fri Oct 09 2009

Very powerful and comfortable! Surprised by the smooth ride of a 4X4...Gas mileage wasn't a plus but definitely wasn't an issue when it came to hauling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT TRUCK for the money

by Honest Lee from Kansas on Fri Sep 20 2013

Bought mine new in 2002. 5.9 standard cab SLT and IT IS LOADED! To buy this truck new today would cost $35,000. Mine still looks & runs like I bought new again. These RAMS new were incredible, and if you can find a used one that's been taken care, you will be impressed. Gas mileage is always the hot button with trucks. Sure a new truck might get a couple extra miles per gallon, but again, I can buy A LOT OF GAS with that $35,000 price difference. I plan to keep this truck for many years, or until someone can pry it from my cold dead hands.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value

by good truck from ca on Thu May 12 2011

Most reliable vehicle with the fewest repairs I have ever owned. It drives and handles like a sedan but gives you the availability of a pickup.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great truck

by dodgefan from VT on Tue Sep 03 2013

I bought both of my 1500 rams with high mileage and had to do some work over the years, but nothing unexpected for the mileage. One was 270,000 when I sold it, some rust but still a reliable truck. The second 260,000 miles again rust repair, but ALWAYS got me where I wanted to go. Never stranded. I had regular maintenance and 1000 mile oil changes. I think it is how they are cared for. The rust is an issue with every truck I have seen.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle

by Dodge Ram Owner from Cleveland, OH on Tue Feb 06 2007

Bought my Dodge 2002 as a dealer demo in 2003 and have very few problems, except a leaky gas cap. Can't complain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 ram 1500 4.7 V8 Regular cab

by Jacobblevins12222 from Fort Payne, AL on Sat Aug 25 2018

I bought this truck at 140,000 miles from a car lot. Was kinda iffy buying a dodge but let me tell you. Best Buy I have ever made. This is the toughest truck I have ever owned. These trucks are almost indestructible! Mine has 234,000 now and it?s still going STRONG!! No major repairs at all yet. Doesn?t use a drop of oil. Still got all the power, transmission shifts perfectly, I love it! Very reliable. Well worth every penny.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The second car I?ve owned

by Peyton from Lawrenceville Illinois on Mon Feb 19 2018

I suggest it, unless your gonna be hauling stuff. I have the 4.7 abd im not to fond of the ?power? it has. But definitely very comfortable to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

DODGE ROCKS!

by Vmal from Holden, MA on Wed Nov 28 2007

This has been a great truck. I have owed it for 5 years now. The only things i have ad to do to the truck it brakes, & Oil changes. I have 87k on it & hope to get another 87k. The 4.7L engine is great plenty of zip & power. I haul my trailer with 2 atv's & one in the bed with very little strain at all. The only thing i don't like is the suspension, it's a nice ride, BUT at times if i hit a hole in the road the truck wants to go off road. My next truck in 5 years will be a Hemi

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Joyfull truck

by Dodge ram from San Diego on Tue Mar 05 2013

No check engine light first owner always taken it to get fresh oil changes power everything reliable car in general

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2002 Dodge Ram 1500

When Dodge last redesigned its full-size Ram pickup in 1995, it took a radical -- and risky -- tack in creating a unique silhouette that looked nothing like its competitors from Ford and General Motors. The result was a smashing success, as the Ram tripled its annual sales volume in the first two years.

When it came time to redo the Ram again in 2002, Dodge took the easy way out: It simply mimicked the previous design, only made it bigger, bolder and more cartoonish.

Fortunately, it also improved such areas as interior volume, steering and creature comforts, and put four full-size doors on the Quad Cab edition.

On the down side, the 2002 Ram 1500 SLT 4x4 that we tested seems grossly overpriced at... Read More