2002 Ram 1500

Consumer Reviews
2002 Dodge Ram 1500

Change Vehicle
4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

36 Reviews
2002 Dodge Ram 1500
4.4 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

very dependable after 100,000 miles

by carpenter john from alabama on November 21, 2007

I bought my truck with 100 thousand plus miles already on it. I could not believe the power the engine has and the comfort of the ride. The stereo system, power seats and extra storage space beneath the back seats made it perfect for those long rides to the job site. The next full size truck I own will definitely be a Dodge.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

44 out of 44 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2002 Dodge Ram Quad Cab

by Chevy Lover gone Dodge from on October 9, 2009

Very powerful and comfortable! Surprised by the smooth ride of a 4X4...Gas mileage wasn't a plus but definitely wasn't an issue when it came to hauling.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

GREAT TRUCK for the money

by Honest Lee from Kansas on September 20, 2013

Bought mine new in 2002. 5.9 standard cab SLT and IT IS LOADED! To buy this truck new today would cost $35,000. Mine still looks & runs like I bought new again. These RAMS new were incredible, and if you can find a used one that's been taken care, you will be impressed. Gas mileage is always the hot button with trucks. Sure a new truck might get a couple extra miles per gallon, but again, I can buy A LOT OF GAS with that $35,000 price difference. I plan to keep this truck for many years, or until someone can pry it from my cold dead hands.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value

by good truck from ca on May 12, 2011

Most reliable vehicle with the fewest repairs I have ever owned. It drives and handles like a sedan but gives you the availability of a pickup.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

great truck

by dodgefan from VT on September 3, 2013

I bought both of my 1500 rams with high mileage and had to do some work over the years, but nothing unexpected for the mileage. One was 270,000 when I sold it, some rust but still a reliable truck. The second 260,000 miles again rust repair, but ALWAYS got me where I wanted to go. Never stranded. I had regular maintenance and 1000 mile oil changes. I think it is how they are cared for. The rust is an issue with every truck I have seen.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Vehicle

by Dodge Ram Owner from Cleveland, OH on February 6, 2007

Bought my Dodge 2002 as a dealer demo in 2003 and have very few problems, except a leaky gas cap. Can't complain.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Joyfull truck

by Dodge ram from San Diego on March 5, 2013

No check engine light first owner always taken it to get fresh oil changes power everything reliable car in general

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

DODGE ROCKS!

by Vmal from Holden, MA on November 28, 2007

This has been a great truck. I have owed it for 5 years now. The only things i have ad to do to the truck it brakes, & Oil changes. I have 87k on it & hope to get another 87k. The 4.7L engine is great plenty of zip & power. I haul my trailer with 2 atv's & one in the bed with very little strain at all. The only thing i don't like is the suspension, it's a nice ride, BUT at times if i hit a hole in the road the truck wants to go off road. My next truck in 5 years will be a Hemi

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

The second car I?ve owned

by Peyton from Lawrenceville Illinois on February 19, 2018

I suggest it, unless your gonna be hauling stuff. I have the 4.7 abd im not to fond of the ?power? it has. But definitely very comfortable to drive

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Work Truck

by TJ from Iowa on September 11, 2017

Good ol work truck. 5.9 engine strong transmission. This was the last year before some major changes(Hemi). I consider this truck to be heavier duty than the following years. I would like to have the more powerful Hemi but don't feel the 4x4 or tranny is as strong with newer models. On the down side they get better gas mileage, mine is poor.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4
Our Expert Review: 2002 Dodge Ram 1500