2002 Escape

Consumer Reviews
2002 Ford Escape

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.2 out of 5 stars

4.2

43 Reviews
2002 Ford Escape
3.9 out of 5 starsComfort
4.3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.1 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.2 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.1 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 43 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Reliability in an SUV package

by Gonzy from SF Bay Area on March 30, 2009

I've had my 2002 Ford Escape XLT for about 3 years now. This is probably one of the best vehicles I have ever owned! Handling is almost like a sports car. Power in the 3 liter V6 rivals what you find in formula racers, well not quite, but you will be happily impressed when you step on the gas to get out of harms way. I drove mine from California to Virginia with a U-Haul trailer behind me, and I had no problem at all at the high speeds that are allowed outside of California. I won't even go into the highway comfort of this SUV, but I will say that I was able to drive long hours and still be pretty fresh when reaching my destination. If you drive conservatively, you will easily get 26mpg on the highway, while enjoying a smooth comfortable ride. I love mine so much, that I can't wait to get another one.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very nice vehicle!!! Love the power of the V6.

by mdntblu from Corona, CA on January 8, 2013

I owned a first year Escape (2001) and drove it until almost 100,000 miles and never had a single issue with it. Over 10 years later I decided to buy another one because we were in need of another vehicle. I found a great deal on a 4X4 version with leather, moonroof, Mach 6 stereo, etc. Very nice car. Love the power of the V6 and the gas mileage is moderate. Would highly recommend this vehicle to a family just starting out and has or is having children. Very safe cars.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite Car I've Owned

by Love My Escape from Sacramento, CA on December 15, 2010

I love my little SUV. Very peppy with lots of get up and go yet gets great gas mileage. Smaller an easy to navigate into small spaces but extremely comfortable for our family of four. Have serviced it from day one and NEVER had any mechanical problems. Highly recommend this year & model.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

perfect car

by . from Brooklyn on December 12, 2010

"I'v really enjoyed my Escape the past year! I've had no problems with it and it has always offered great gas mileage. It's one the best small SUV's available, with plenty of room to carry all of my stuff. Very satisfied with my purchase of this car."

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good value for the money

by commuter from Quail Valley Ca on April 11, 2011

I needed a newer car for long commuting. The escape had the features I wanted (4 cylinder, manual, front wheel drive. I paid a price that was fair to both sides. The dealership was quick to fix a few minor defects. I am getting good mileage (25) Like the handling, comfort, ride. Would buy another Ford and use the same dealership

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

What a true value I got for the money I paid.

by Peanner from Lafayette Colorado on August 7, 2017

This SUV is just perfect tho it is a 2002. This little Ford Escape is just what I needed. Lots of leg room. Comfortable seats, runs smooth, it was so clean, lots of cargo room. And it had brand new snow tires. What a deal I got.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

best car we have ever owned

by escape owner from oklahoma on July 16, 2009

great car a woman's suv, we hasve really enjoyed this car, we have had very little trouble with it,i would recommend it to any one, the leather seats have stood up to a lot of wear and still look good, aslo the way the back seats go down you have a lot of room where you can haul very large items

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2002 Ford Escape

by Morset from Neenah, WI on July 2, 2012

Very nice all-arounf commuter SUV! V6 has plenty of pep! Wheelbase a little short & heater struggles in winter.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've Ever Owned, Even with Some Repairs

by TangNT2098 on June 29, 2017

I bought this car used with 175,000 miles on it and it's been so good to me. It's had to have been worked on a bit. I've had to replace a couple spark plugs, but the design of this car makes it very easy to do so. Other than that, this car has ran beautifully for an older car. It's now at approximately 213,000 miles and is still driving like a dream. I recommend this car to anyone looking for a reliable small SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Just what I wanted

by Falcon dad from Arizona on January 28, 2013

Nice, very strong V6, lots of space, nice interior, everything where you would expect it to be. Got the XLT with every option, tow pkg, roof rack, sun roof, power everything, 4 whl drive. Just wish the gas mileage was better, currently getting about 21 mpg overall.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5