2003 Escape

Consumer Reviews

2003 Ford Escape

$1,087 - $7,063  MSRP Range
2003 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.1 out of 5 stars

4.1

40 Reviews
73% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.1 out of 5 stars Performance
3.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Ever!!

by Bruiserc from Greenville, SC on Thu Mar 03 2011

I bought a 2003 Ford Escape XLT with 111,220 miles on it for driving back and forth to work. Had it now for a year and have had no problems. It has now 125,000 miles on it. Easy to see out of. Easy to park. Can carry all my work equipment and 3 more passangers. Must buy for anyone looking for a great suv.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

38 out of 38 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

good suv and great on gas

by samy from indianapolis on Fri Apr 15 2011

best suv ever.good on gas great 4x4.fun to drive,great on snow.had one before for 5 years and i am looking to get a newer model this year

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Escape

by Car lover from Fresno, Ca on Sat Aug 28 2010

I love the ergonomics, economy and utility of this car. It is not meant to be a heavy duty vehicle but still pulls my boat without isse. I have had zero issues with my Escape would recommend this vehicle to anyone.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

nothing exciting but it works

by stuff from on Thu Oct 28 2010

I needed something that could haul a good amount of college student type stuff yet get ok gas mileage. This car was it. I have had it for about 5 years and still currently own it. Overall it did what i wanted, it carried stuff, and it got you from A to B without using a huge amount of gas. Problem is that its sort of a boring vehicle. Nothing bad about the car, just nothing to get you excited either. Thats why i now also own a S2000. I had the V6 and for a small SUV that thing had some power. On normal days i get around 18 city and 24 highway. This is on the 2WD version. Reliability has been good for me. The only thing worth mentioning was that at 60k miles i had to replace the control arms. The bushing in the control arm was falling apart, and since Ford made the control arms out of aluminum the mechanic told me they couldnt replace the bushings without bending the control arms. So, I had to buy all new control arms just to replace the bushings. Thats just some manufacturing cost saving design work by Ford, but the car itself has never let me down.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just Keeps Going

by JDT from Indianapolis on Thu Aug 08 2013

This is by far the best vehicle I have owned. Just turned over 304,000 miles with no transmission issues. It is my daily driver. I am averaging 25.4 mpg on my commute. Besides the items that normally need to be replaced, I have replaced O2 sensors, tie rod ends, and some gaskets. That is all. One complaint, the Duratec motors are very expensive to work on due to the amount of labor involved. For example, it cost $265 in labor alone to replace the spark plugs. Overall, a great vehicle that will haul many larger items. I will purchase another one when this one goes.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

No escaping this Escape.

by boomer from mi on Tue Jul 25 2006

It handles very well. The cornering is very tight. The speed and acceleration is powerful, especially for merging on highways or for pulling recreation vehicles. Make sure to rotate the tires though. Improper tread width leads to unusually noisy road noise. The price was very affordable compared to a larger size suv(Explorer, Jeep Cherokee..) Having grown up from the Motor city it's great to find yet another finely designed vehicle. Thumbs up Ford Motor Co.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great sales vehicle

by Dental Sales Rep from philly on Wed Nov 24 2010

Bought it new in 2003. Great vehicle. No major problems. Have 120,000 and will keep for another 80,000. The original continental tires it came with were noisy. Switched over to Firestone and the ride was much quieter. The oil pans are made of cheap sheet metal and after 7 years of oil changes the pan needed to be replaced. Beyond that regular tune ups and oil changes and brakes. Oh the temp control knob broke at 110,000 so I bought a couple on eBay for 20 bucks. It is paid for and I will run it until it dies.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Car

by Manny7 from Pinelllas Park on Wed Sep 06 2017

It's a good vehicle to own, it drives well and it's reliable, the only issues I had with it is a leaky sunroof, squeaky rear and front brakes, and a squeaky steering wheel.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned and still going stron

by Rachel from Michigan on Tue Sep 09 2014

I have had my 2003 Escape since 2005 and this is my daily commuter vehicle. Mileage is at 216,000 and it keeps on ticking. Excellent in the rough Michigan winter and have not been stuck with my 4WD. I feel safe in my Escape with my family and my next vehicle will definitely be another Escape!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

PERFECT FIRST CAR

by Crusader17 from Macomb, MI on Fri Sep 15 2017

This car is safe, reliable, VERY good on gas, and comfortable. This was my first vehicle and I love driving it. Even as a used car, I know I can depend on it, even after 150,000 miles! I recommend this car all the time!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2003 Ford Escape

Ford says its hybrid gas/electric Escape SUV that goes on sale in 2003 will be followed by a hybrid gas/electric Explorer at an unnamed date.

The Escape HEV will feature an electric drivetrain powered by nickel-metal-hydride batteries combined with a fuel-efficient 4-cylinder gas engine. Escape HEV will deliver 40 m.p.g. in the city and 31 m.p.g. on the highway, Ford said.

The reason for the higher city mileage is that batteries will start the vehicle and get it up to cruising speed, when the gas engine will take over.

The Explorer HEV will be equipped with a V-6 that can turn itself off at stoplights and restart as soon as the driver lifts off the brake pedal, with technology similar to that... Read More