2002 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2002 Ford Explorer

$938 - $6,358  MSRP Range
2002 Ford Explorer

Review Score

3.8 out of 5 stars

3.8

101 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.1 out of 5 stars Comfort
3.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
3.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2002 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 101 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best vehicle I've ever owned!!!

by LoveMyExplorer21 from Middletown, Ohio on Fri Mar 21 2014

Bought a 2002 Explorer Limited 4WD with the 4.0L V6 used in 2010 with 110K miles and now I have 150K miles on it with no problems at all. All I've done is changed the oil every 3K miles, the tires at 134K miles and that's it. No problems. The comfortable leather seats provide all-day comfort in the first and second rows. The third-row seats are actually usable and are very roomy and comfy, not always common with three-row SUVs and vans. Ford's 4.0L V6 pulls strong and sounds great. The 4WD system works very well in snowy Ohio winters, this past winter was like the storm of the century so it was definitely needed! I love the stereo, I can play my favorite albums with exceptional sound quality! It is loaded with everything you could want in an SUV, like leather (as mentioned above), heated seats which are great in the winter, 6-disc in-dash CD changer, dual-zone AC, and lots of in-vehicle storage including pockets for the second row and a big center storage bin for the front driver and passenger. I could not be any happier with my baby, my Explorer! Made in the USA!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

48 out of 48 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great for the money

by Love My '02 Ford Explorer XLT! from Manhattan Beach, CA on Sun Nov 28 2010

I am the original owner of a 2002 Ford XLT Explorer with a little over 100K miles on it, and I have taken great care of this car from the beginning and have had only minor issues with it. I do take it to Ford once a year for normal maintenance, which usually costs under $500.00 to keep it in great working condition. I was going to trade it in last year for a new Ford Edge, but the Edge is too small and I decided I didn't want a car payment anyway! My Ford is big, a 7-seater, for my daughter and all her friends, our dogs and our ski trips, and I always have enough room for our gear; bikes, skiis, snowboards, dog crates, groceries, etc. That's very important with our life style. I would recommend this car to anyone. Try one if you need room, reliability, value and low car maintenance.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

worth it!

by from long island from long island, NY on Mon Jul 27 2009

I purchased an 2002 6 cyl. e.b. just two months ago with 85,000 miles on it..and I LOVE IT!! Ive worked on and driven all types of cars and SUVs, stick shift or not and personally i would have gotten a stick import car (im 20...thats what we drive lol) but i went for the suv instead. And after reading many and many reviews about explorers, ive decided to own one myself. i can understand if people get upset if their explorer has problems, but they bought it USED!!!! People have to understand that used cars will have problems with them. Every single negative complaint on this site probably has the cars labeled used with decent to high mileage...what could you expect. NO CAR IS PERFECT! Anyways..the pros- great to drive...good to have third row seating available...performance of entire car is great the cons- the gas, its not terrible but always could be a little better

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

31 out of 31 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Worth every Penny

by Daily Runner from N.Andover, MA on Mon Jun 27 2011

I have this truck for almost 10 years now. I bought new and have now 187k Miles on it. We love this truck. Yes its V8 and gas hogger but it does what it suppose to do. Other then 1 transmission replacement, I can say that I never had any problem, Yes Change 2 times tires and once brakes. It starting to get rust on certain spot but its strong as new. We used this in New England harsh weather and took twice to Arizona. Never failed. I am planning to keep it as long as possible and then yes, I am planning to go back to Explorer again.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Our 1st luxury car we ever owned.

by coloradobell from montrose co on Fri Aug 31 2012

We just brought a 02 explorer with only 58000. We are the cars' second owners. We up graded from 81 chevy blazer . The old owners took excellant care of this car. Its looks and acts like it just came of the assembly line. We live in middle of Rockies in Colorado so we knew we had to get a vechical that could take on the winter, plus get us over the passes when traveling. This our 1st luxury car, AND my husband loves it.He is 16 year parts veteran for carquest. Not one word of cost for parts for this car, Which awesome!! He loves the big truck feeling, I love the space and 3rd seats for grandchildren. We don't miss the Blazer at all!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

love it

by hOUSTON773 from Housotn on Tue Jul 27 2010

I bought my 02 Explorer in 05 with 37k miles. It now has over 105k miles. I love this truck! Other thn your usual Oil, brake pads and your other usual wear and tear stuff, this truck has given me no problem. I am now ready to upgrade to a 08 Explorer. I love the new look, so trust me! If you need a quality car with a nice look to it, i think any explorer will do for you. Welcome to the Ford Family!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle and Dependable

by Lifes Great from Phoenix, AZ on Wed Dec 20 2017

This is the first vehicle i've owned 2002 Ford Explorer Linited 4.0 with less downtime problems than any other vehicle i've owned. Since i have owned this vehicle from new, here is the list of problems i've had. 1) Replaced brake pads and resurfaced rotors. 2) Replaced starter. 3) Replaced surpentine belts. 4) Replaced all 4 struts with shocks. 5) Replaced dryer to A/C unit. 6) Re-sufaced and polished head light lens, left and right. 7) Replaced 2 lamp bulbs to top brake lights. I have always kept up on the oil and filter changes and drove respectfully. This vehicle has 329,000 miles and still going strong. I have not had any major problems. What a great vehicle.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

02 explorer

by explorer from grand rapids mi on Tue Feb 21 2012

ive had 3 2002 ford explorer and ive loved them all, they are really good trucks and very reliable before 200,xxx miles after that alot of maintainence work was need (exp. wheel bearings,tie rods, ball joints, tranny, altenater,rear differental, 02 sensor, 4x4 modual,) those are some that they have needed. i would recommend this truck to anyone but not with more then 200thousand miles.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good SUV

by wpb from Warrensburg, MO on Thu Jul 01 2010

I purchased this vehicle new in 2001, but it is a 2002 model. The only negative thing I can say is that it had fewer features than the 1996 model I replaced though I paid a similar price. It is a truck like vehicle, which I like. I am not interested in a car-like SUV. I need a rugged vehicle with towing capacity. My Explorer fit the bill. I've never had mechanical issues. I have owned it since new so it has been well cared for and never abused. I now have more than 130,000 miles on it. Our other car is a Toyota Camry. I care about fuel efficiency. For a truck-like vehicle, the Ford Explorer is okay.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase ever made

by EDianeT from Ohio on Sat Apr 20 2013

I love how much space there is even with a 3rd row seat. Lots of leg room. Very strong engine. Overall one of the most comfortable vehicles ive ever drove/rode in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11

Our Take on the 2002 Ford Explorer

There aren't many nicer driving roads in North America than California's Pacific Coast Highway, also known as Highway One or simply the PCH.

Our choice to negotiate the PCH, especially the twisty, mountainous route that snakes north from San Francisco toward Eureka, would be a little convertible or even a sport sedan.

Instead, we found ourselves recently tackling this challenging road in a 2002 Ford Explorer Limited 4x2 -- a well-equipped sport-utility vehicle with a sticker price of $35,775.

We felt it was time to revisit the Explorer, a best-seller for a decade that suffered major image problems last year because of tire-related safety issues. It was extensively redesigned for the 2002... Read More