2000 Ranger

Consumer Reviews

2000 Ford Ranger

$943 - $8,767  MSRP Range
2000 Ford Ranger

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

35 Reviews
89% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.4 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Ford Ranger?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 35 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Happy camper from tri cities washinton on Wed Mar 05 2014

I have had my Ranger for over 8 years and it has been the best truck. I have worked it hard hauling wood., pulling a 26 foot camper trailer, Loaded car trailers and drive every day to work. It has never let me down and runs Great at 145.000

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Treating me well

by Al from Detroit, MI on Fri Nov 10 2006

Rarely in the shop. The OHV 4.0L V6 is torquey enough to pull small trailers, and gets me decent mileage for a 4X4. I would recommend looking at a 2001 and newer model with the SOHC 4.0L. My brother has an '03, and not only is it much quicker than my '00, but it gets 3 mpg better.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

15 years going strong

by Stevo from Houston,TX on Wed Oct 07 2015

I?m the fourth owner might as well be the first. No big problems in 8 years of owning it. I had to get new leaf springs and breaks all around only because of normal wear and tear, not because of a bad product. Not much to say, Perfect first car even in 2015. Most underrated vehicle in Ford history! Not to big not to small, not to weak nor to strong with horsepower. It is safe got into a head on crash (was wearing seat belt) at 15 mph I was just fine not hurt at all, got it fixed. Good enough for two people. Back seat is pointless for an adult but could pass for a kid although not safe so really pointless. Just put a big Sub-woofer back there problem solved. These rangers will still be on the road 50 years from now.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect truck

by Teal from Virginia on Sat Jul 05 2014

We bought this truck for my son who just started driving because he loves trucks and we wanted a small size so it's easier to park and manage. This was perfect. Ours is a 4x4 so it has a big truck feel and nice look. He loves it and it is easy for him to load it with the lawn care things he needs for work and all his baseball stuff.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

My Little Black Truck

by Ranger944 from Brick, NJ on Sun Feb 04 2007

Best truck I think I'll ever own. First vehicle I've ever had. Never let me down, ever. Always started without a problem. Extended cab definitely a plus. Really hate to sell her now, but I need to upgrade to full-size. Gas mileage could be better, but for the power, it is considerable. Very durable truck and is good off-road. Used it for light off-roading and handles whatever I tried to climb. I know it is a mistake getting rid of it, but I need full-size, definitely sticking with Ford.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck ever

by Ford man from Alabama on Tue Feb 20 2018

2000 2 wheel drive .Got it of the show room floor new. I used to trade every two years but not this one nope 18 years and go strong .4.0 runs great never lets me down .love my ranger l will sell my mustang GT before my truck.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Decent value truck

by CJW06 on Sat Sep 16 2017

Overall this was a good value little truck. Deserves a 4-5 star grade. Unfortunately we had the flexfuel model, which caused some headaches and extra money spent. I would have given 4 stars at minimum of we didn't have the flexfuel model(or had better knowledge of flexfuel vehicles beforehand).

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very Dependable and Simple

by eidenreb from Arkansas on Wed Aug 16 2017

I love my Ranger XLT. It has nearly 200k miles and runs great. Couple issues with the battery and alternator needing switched out but other than that she's a champ. Has been able to transport me to and from anywhere I've needed to go. Kayaks, tables, beds, people, etc. it has been through it all. GREAT cheap first car purchase.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

awesome

by marshmellowthedangerranger from charlotte,nc on Tue Nov 28 2017

this truck is dope i bought off my neighbor and i have been working on it since i love it its not to hard to make a dope street car out of this truck i have lowered mine 6" and put an exhaust and wheels and tires in the straights i lose every race but when we get into the turns the truck does great if you wanna see my truck got follow @ the_danger_ranger69 on instagram

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

super clean

by ranger in fallbrook on Sat Nov 18 2017

have had this truck for over 10 years and has never let us down. from camping ,fishing or just a daily driver this ranger has been a blast

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4