2001 Taurus

Consumer Reviews

2001 Ford Taurus

$501 - $5,021  MSRP Range
2001 Ford Taurus

Review Score

4.0 out of 5 stars

4.0

53 Reviews
81% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.3 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.1 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
3.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4 out of 5 stars Reliability
3.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2001 Ford Taurus?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 53 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

oldfaithful

by taurusmane from jennings la on Wed Feb 24 2010

this is the most reliable car i have ever own well actually its the on one im 22 now and ive had this car since i was 16 my taurus has 394000 miles on it and it still runs great nice cold air and warm heater never did anything to it but regular oil change.... and a starter a couple thousand miles ago but no big deal i was wondering when i was ever gonna have to do anything to it, it is a awesome car i will keep it till it dies and it dont look like that is any time soon....

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable Car

by Dave from Orange County, CA on Sat Mar 17 2012

I bought my 2001 Ford Taurus after it had over 200,000 miles on it, and it still ran like new! The seats are very comfortable. It handles quite well and the acceleration is great with it's V6 engine. The only thing that sucks is that it does not come with a CD player or any other gadgets that you see on the newer cars. Other than that, the vehicle has been very reliable and I've never had to get any work done on it besides routine maintenance

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great wagon would buy another one

by Taurus from MA on Sat Nov 06 2010

I have 110 thousand on my wagon and have had no major problems I just do regular things like oil changes, brakes, etc.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Ford Taurus - Alright

by FL Driver from Melbourne, FL on Fri Sep 14 2007

Have had my 2001 Taurus for about a year. This is a very good car, but have had some problems with it, like with most used cars. The engine knocks, which I am being told sounds like a piston problem, which could be very problematic. The transmission is also starting to become a concern, as the transmission sends vibrating like feelings through-out the car when you hit around 60 MPH and higher, and continues to vibrate throughout that speed. The car leaks oil a little bit, but has held up very well. The brakes had to be changed around 70,000 miles, the alternator also went out at that same time and had to be replaced. Other than that, this is a fabulous car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
2 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Value for the dollar from Nothern NJ on Thu Nov 22 2012

These cars have great pickup for keeping up with traffic. Smooth ride. Plenty of head room. Great for a family of four or five.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money!

by Taurus2001 from Syracuse, NY on Wed Sep 19 2012

This car is excellent value. The ride is fantastic, and very soft. Mine is the SES sedan with the 3.0L Duratec DOHC engine. It has 68000 miles and everythig on it is perfect. I do regular oil changes, tune ups and maintenance. The engine has plenty of power, and runs incredibly smooth. The only problem I've had is the rear shocks and struts had to be replaced at 50,000 miles. This is a common problem on these cars and I recomend having them checked out if buying this car. Also the leather inserts on the door panels aren't very durable and my dog scratched them right off. Overall an excellent car. I've owned a 2000 Toyota Camry and I can say that the Taurus is a much better car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Stay AWAY

by I Hate Tauruses from Buffalo, New York on Thu Jan 08 2015

I got this 2001 Taurus in 2009 with a little under 80,000 miles on it. Now at a little under 130,000 I've had to get new tie rods, the rear shocks are shot, not to mention I think I have a coolant leak and I've put 3 STARTERS in this piece of thing within the past year and they all have died, which some have said means that it needs a new alternator. Well, after spending up to $2,000 on repairs of this thing, I will NOT be putting another cent into this car. Looking to go back to Japan or Korea for my next car or if I HAVE to go American, it won't be with a Taurus. The Tauruses from this year are awful mechanical headaches that are gas guzzlers.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
1 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does not recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Ford Taurus - Comfort and Safety and Style

by LA Driver from Los Angeles, Ca on Thu May 18 2006

My Ford Taurus gets me where I want to go in comfort and style, and with a sense of safety. It handles smoothly on city streets and the open highway. Speed pickup is very good. Road visibility is great- no blind spots. Steering is very good especially in and out of tight parking spaces. Air and heat work great. Enough legroom and head room. Trunk has lots of room. I like the style -often mistake a low end model of Jaguar for my Taurus. Negs: Transmission is a concern but so far(80K miles), not a major problem. CD deck (6 CD's)is in the trunk -must stop and get out, in order to change the deck.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car for the money

by Chris from Greensboro, NC on Wed Mar 06 2013

The car is much more comfortable than a typical entry level car (think Kia). Not a lot of road noise and very comfortable on the highway. My wife and I owned a 2001 model for 10 years and had very few problems. The problems we had were mostly minor The only major issue we had in 10 years (mind you we bought the car used in 2003 and just recently sold it) was the A/C compressor went out. Other than that, routine maintenance and a few simple repairs. I would purchase another ford taurus if I was in the market for that style car. Upgraded to a minivan :o)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Sandeep

by Car Enthusiast from Chicago, Illinois on Thu May 18 2006

Good features like power windows, power seat, adjustable pedals available. A good family car. Price is decent. Only problem is if the car has problem then it is hard to fix even by dealers. Problem could be poor quality of materials or design problems.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does not recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2001 Ford Taurus

Pity the folks who don't understand how much cars and people are alike. You have to get to know them [cars and people] before making a commitment. Otherwise, the relationship can be short and unhappy.

Some cars, and people, come on strong. They look like a million bucks. But spend some time with them, and you know they're not for you. Lots of style, maybe not so much substance. The whole package doesn't back up the looks or performance that first attracted you.

Then there are the cars, like people, you tend to overlook. Until you realize they've been around you for years, getting the job done, even though they hardly shout at you or stand out from the streams of vehicles passing by on... Read More