NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2019 GMC Terrain

$25,000 - $39,500  MSRP Range
2019 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

95 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 95 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Marty T from Saginaw, MI on Thu Dec 20 2018

Excellent suv. Lots of room... Great on gas, and I mean awesome on gas... Great value. I love it.. This suv has a very smooth ride. Best decision on a vehicle I ever made!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Perfect car for me!

by Klassikatt from Fort Wayne, Indiana on Tue Jun 25 2019

I became a widow and was left with a 2013 Buick Enclave and and a 2007 Buick Lucerne. I love Buicks but the EnClave was too big for me to drive comfortably and the Lucerne was getting too old to be reliable. I spent a week at a nearby dealership shopping. A good used car was almost as much money as a new car. The Buick Encore was too small and the step bigger didn't have some features I wanted. The salesman suggested I try a Terrain and I loved it! I've owned it 8 months and I still love it. It is easy to drive and park, roomy inside and has lots of safety features. It looks great inside and out. I got an SLT and love the blue color, the keyless entry, the panoramic moon roof, giving a kick to open the tailgate, answering the phone and controlling the radio from the steering wheel, the shifting buttons and just everything about it. I'm a 76 year old woman and this is the first car I've ever bought on my own and the first new one. I did good, it's perfect for me!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Super SUV

by jpb from st pete fl on Wed Nov 07 2018

Great car just the right size lots of power and top safety features including smart cruise control and lane hold make highway driving easy also has wifi with full internet

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Too soon too tell

by Mike Mets fan from Ocean and Monmouth cty. N.J. on Mon Mar 18 2019

Had it for a month. So far so good. Comfortable and not bad on gas. Very car like for SUV. Like keyless entry and starting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Off-roading

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my third Terrain-that says it all.

by Phil from East Liverpool, OH on Sat Nov 17 2018

The Terrain fits my needs completely. I have liked the style, size and preformance. This is the third one and they keep getting better. Good job GMC.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Sharp and sleek, Drives great and lots of space.

by Jody C from Normal, IL on Thu Jun 13 2019

This car is awesome, it had great leg room, plenty of space in the back for all the bags or whatever you may need to haul. The interior is awesome really stylish. It has three USB ports and wifi as well. Just a sharp looking car and has a smooth ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Vehicle I Have Purchased

by MikeB from Buffalo, NY on Mon Apr 15 2019

Best vehicle I have ever purchased. I look forward to getting into another Terrain when my lease is up, these are fantastic vehicles. Highly recommend

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Greta Value in a small SUV

by SandySM from Calgary on Tue Apr 30 2019

Well thought out. The shift buttons tend to take getting used to, once you adjust the buttons work great. All the "experts" ted to dislike but I immediately tried a three point turn and executed quickly, easily and without issues. More space for a cupholder etal. Mileage is about o par in heavy city driving but exceeds rating on highway. Gm should have also allowed for an auto mode for 4WD.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this SUV!

by Patches from Wesley Chapel on Wed Aug 28 2019

I traded in a 2015 GMC Acadia for a 2019 GMC Terrain, because the GMC Acadia was to much wasted space that I didn't need or use.I wanted a smaller SUV. This is a perfect fit for me it has enough power, very comfortable and excellent on gas. I love how different it looks next to every other common looking SUV.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

reliable

by Butch on Wed Oct 31 2018

this vehicle is great so far and great to drive. has been very reliable to this day and month, year and fun to drive this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Our Take on the 2019 GMC Terrain

The verdict:

The redesigned 2018 GMC Terrain is a refined and comfortable compact SUV, and it gives shoppers plenty of choices, including an optional diesel engine and an upscale Denali trim.

 

Versus the competition:

The compact SUV class is crowded, but the Terrain’s available tech features, modern drivetrains and impressive roominess help it stand out.

 

Most vehicles get larger when redesigned, but the 2018 GMC Terrain is one of the rare ones that’s smaller than the SUV it replaces — at least externally. The Terrain and its sibling SUV, the Chevrolet Equinox, had long been two of the larger compact SUVs available, but the 2018 models are now closer in size to competitors like the Honda CR-V and Toyota RAV4. (See these four SUVs’ specs compared here.)

The new Terrain starts at $25,970, including a $975 destination charge, for a base, front-wheel-drive SL trim with the standard turbocharged gas 1.5-liter four-cylinder. I tested three versions of the SUV to experience its three available engines: an all-wheel-drive SLE with the 1.5-liter engine... Read More