NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2016 Sportage

Consumer Reviews

2016 Kia Sportage

$11,195 - $20,679  MSRP Range
2016 Kia Sportage

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

45 Reviews
84% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Kia Sportage?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 45 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable Car I've Owned

by Love my KIA from Willis, Texas on Thu Apr 28 2016

This is our 2nd Sportage, we had a 2013 and now we have a 2016. I love how it handles and how nice and room there is to store things. The way it rides, drives, and looks classy!!!! Thank You, I will be back to get another one . This is my type of SUV. It runs good and drives very nice.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

21 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very comfortable. Best car ive owned

by Ginny from Ilion NY on Sat Oct 10 2015

Very nice car. I love the extras. Very stylish look It has heated and cooling seat, back up camera,and more

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

very decent car . I like it very much

by jackcmeatcutter from myrtle beach sc. 29588 on Mon Jul 18 2016

Handels great . Good get up and go . Good on gas . Decent ride and performance. The car is great on gas .It really looks sharp / I like the black color . It looks classy in black / Dealership was good Salesman was great, but didn't think much of the finance mamager . I feel this dude is not an asset to the Kia Dealership of Myrtle Beach . Actually i think he should be replaced and maby even be put in Jail . Not a good person at all .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car for a Great Price

by AZCREOLE66 from Phoenix, AZ on Thu Mar 16 2017

I love this car! Great handling, stylish and full of great features. I love how it drives and how comfortable it is. This is my new favorite toy!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Quality Car

by Boog from Valley City, Ohio on Tue Sep 08 2015

I very please with my Sportage. I find it easy to get in and out of along with great handling. Very stylish look and love the Black Cherry finish.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this thing!

by Cowboy from PA on Thu May 24 2018

This AWD SUV is just the ticket. It is definitely a step down from my Audi, but in retirement, I love my Sportage. Not all the comforts, but very reliable.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I would buy another one.

by Carolyn from Conroe, TX on Sun Apr 24 2016

They had great service, very friendly and made sure to answer all my questions. Including to also provide information and keep in contact.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Road trip, anyone?!?!

by Kat R. from DURANGO, Colorado on Wed Mar 13 2019

This car has potential and I believe it fits my needs perfectly. From driving to work everyday to needing to see my docs in Denver on the fly. Camping trips with my family or a day trip for the heck of it. I love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nimble, roomy, well built, great in snow

by Durango92 from Middletown CT on Wed Jan 16 2019

I've had the car for three months now and have had the opportunity to drive it in one snow storm where it performed amazingly well. When you lock the AWD the traction is amazing. Other crossovers don't have that feature, or the hill descent feature the Sportage has. I crawled under the car to install a trailer hitch and was impressed by how beefy the suspension and driveline was built. The Sportage seems to lean toward the SUV, rather than car, end of the spectrum. Drives well for an SUV-type vehicle with level cornering and a reasonably smooth ride (for an SUV). Fast acceleration and a small turning radius make it a great choice for city driving. Roomier on the inside than it looks from the outside, and the seats are comfortable, ergonomics good. The 6 speed transmission works well but hesitates to downshift on hills when in eco mode. Forward visibility is very good, side visibility good, rearward visibility only fair. With some cars in this class (Rav-4 for example) its hard to park because you can't see the white lines between spaces, and easy to hit curbs and scratch the wheels. Not a problem with the Sportage. As far as styling, that's a matter of personal taste, but I like that fact that it doesn't look like every other crossover out there. The engine has adequate power, runs smoothly and is well matched to the transmission. I also like the manual override feature on the transmission, handy when towing or climbing long steep hills. Build quality is very good with no noticeable squeaks or rattles (mine was made in Korea). Only negatives would be gas mileage (I get only about 21 MPG in mixed driving- other vehicles in the class do a lot better (CR-V for example). That and the lack of a backup camera in the LX model- given the poor rearward visibility all Sportages should have backup cams. And, the engine is a little noisy when accelerating, with a pronounced clatter from the direct injection.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2016 Kia Sportage LX

by Erin M. from Bethlehem, NC on Fri Jan 26 2018

I went from a 2013 Honda Civic to this 2016 Kia Sportage LX and do not regret my decision whatsoever. We needed a bigger vehicle for our family and decided to purchase a Sportage. Fun to drive and has adequate room for our family of three. Gas mileage is decent considering its an SUV. The price for what you get however is high compared to other makes and Kia could improve on their standard features. Overall a great vehicle and am satisfied with it!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5