2003 Corolla

Consumer Reviews

2003 Toyota Corolla

$1,895 - $6,875  MSRP Range
2003 Toyota Corolla

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

55 Reviews
93% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.1 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.2 out of 5 stars Performance
4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2003 Toyota Corolla?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 55 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car Ever

by Toyota Fan from Doylestown, PA on Sun Jan 03 2010

We bought this car (Toyota Corolla 2003) new spring 2002 for $13,100.00 plus tax and tags. It has been a great car. Gas mileage has been between 27-38 MPG depending on season and type of driving. We had two problems that were fixed on the warranty free of charge. The catalytic converter had to be replaced and the lights in the dash blew out after 1 year. We haven't had any problems since. It is a very smart design. We went to the airport with 5 adults + luggage. We have hauled furniture, trees, firewood, etc. in this car. We can fit more in this car than my dad's Mercedes. When we had a baby we could fit the car seat, stroller and other supplies without problems. It is not a sports car but it feels solid and gets you from point A to B comfortably. Best car for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I've ever Owned . . by far!

by Ralphie from SW Missouri on Tue Sep 22 2009

I bought my corolla sport model (S) new in 2003 with 27 miles on it. I've done nothing major to it. Just changed the oil every 5k using synthetic blend until 50k then changed to full synthetic, replaced brakes a couple times, and changed spark plugs once. It now has 236,xxx miles on it and is still running strong. It will have to have a clutch soon though. I have got as much as 41 mpg highway but average around 36 combined driving (standard tranny). I would like to find another one like this, but will be keeping this one until the wheels fall off.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful car

by long-time toyota owner from Springfield, VA on Tue Jun 07 2011

my first toyota was a 1970 Corona, predecesor to the Camry. I most recently owned a 2003 Corolla CE, an absolutely flawless car in all respects, reliable, economical to maintain and drive, great gas mileage, comfortable, roomy and so much more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Why buy new when you can save thousands?

by Convinced by Corolla from El Paso, Texas on Tue Jul 11 2006

What surprised me about this car from the onset was how new it appeared to be. Inside and out, and even under the hood this car is spotless. I was particularly impressed with the brilliant shine of the red paint combined with the tastefully added chrome wheels. Driving the car was downright fun. I did not expect something that delivers 38 mpg on the road to handle and perform like it does. The "S" stands for Sport on this Corolla and it certainly earns the badge. Steering is crisp and accurate, the automatic shifts smoothly, and the brakes seemed "sensitive" at first until you get used to brakes that works so well. Inside the cabin, everything is where it should be... within easy reach and plain view. The Corolla "S" transforms a great commuter into a fun ride wherever you are headed. It is no wonder the Corolla line has been alive and well for so long. What sparked my initial interest was the reliability of the Corolla. My mechanic mentioned that he had serviced several of them over the years with well over 250,000 miles on them and all they needed was routine maintenance, (oil and filter changes, tires, battery, etc.) When will America ever learn to build such durability into a car? Answer: They did! They built Toyota factories here...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New to Toyota

by heykay59 from Meadville, PA on Tue Jan 01 2013

2003 Corolla is new to me, i've always been a Chevy girl but had wanted to try a Toyota.. Not disappointed at all! This little 4 cylinder runs great, has a lot of get up and go.. Drives / handles wonderful in the snow. I could not be more happier with my purchase.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

most reliable car

by kk from on Mon Jul 25 2011

good car, best car i have owned most reliable , great gas mileage, but few rust propblems on body...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great for the money!

by Coros from Hawaii on Thu Jun 08 2006

2003 Corolla S 5-speed Comfort = Very comfortable even for a long hour drive. The seat not having enough support while quick turns makes it 4 stars instead of 5. Performance = The performance is best I can expect for the price of the car. Great on the gas too. In the bast 3 years, I got an average of 33 mpg city & highway combined. Definitely deserves 5 stars. Handling = Suspension is comfortably soft. But not everyone favors soft ride with lots of body roll. Stock only deserves 3 starts but can be upgraded to 5 stars with less than $1000 of after market upgrade. Exterir, Interier design, and feature = Nothing I would change even if I had the choice to. Value for the Money = Bought the car for $16k + tax + fee. Can't be better than that. Reliability = Toyota reliability. Nothing broke in 3+ years.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Toyota Corolla

by kitka from Chicago on Mon Apr 25 2011

It is a wonderful car. I like it because It can save our money for gasoline. It is comfortable to drive in the city and on highways. You can easily control its speed or stop it. Also I like its color, orange red, glowing in the sun. When I needed to change accumulator the car gave me a sign before. I would like to recommend this car for people who need a good car for not too much money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nearly bulletproof

by iland99 from MN on Thu Jun 28 2018

We bought this boring little car brand new in 2002. It does exactly what we bought it to do - provide years of cheap, boring, trouble-free commuting. We've owned it for 16 years and it now has over 265,000 miles on it! All I've ever had to do was basic maintenance, plus one wheel bearing and a couple of brake calipers. Mechanically I bet it would go another 200,000 miles, but unfortunately the salty Minnesota roads have caused it to rust pretty badly over the years. Once it does finally die I'll have a tough time replacing it with anything other than another Corolla.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car, but it has its problems

by kerrysuz from Marshfield, MA on Wed Jun 27 2007

This car was one of the first models of this particular Corolla design on the road (I was the only one with this model on Boston roads when I first bought it). It's been reliable, and I'm now at 114,000 miles, but recently I've put some money in it. I have put in new rotors and calipers and even a new front axle, but my current issue is a transmission problem. As I drive, there is a clinking in the engine, and after THREE opinions (and a wrong diagnosis that left me with a new clutch), the answer is a new transaxle ($$$). I'm hoping this is the last big expense in a while. So though I've enjoyed the car very much and love the way it drives (except for high road noise and difficulty handling on very windy days...but AWESOME handling in snow, which is far more important to me), I've felt a little discouraged at this point in the road. But I'm sticking with it.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2003 Toyota Corolla

If it wasn't always exciting, the Toyota Corolla has long been known as a compact alternative, a small family mover and a reliable way to go from Point A to Point B.

It can finally be called feisty.

Just when the South Koreans starting putting a dent in the Corolla's domestic sales share, Toyota is coming back swinging.

The vanilla is suddenly not so bland. The boredom is finally a little less hum drum. The Corolla is redesigned.

Was that a yawn we heard in the distance?

Reshaping its best seller is hardly anything earth shattering for the automaker that has done a good job of rolling with the punches. The Corolla was completely redesigned and enlarged five years ago. This time it's different.

Just in... Read More