2019 XC40

Consumer Reviews

2019 Volvo XC40

$33,700 - $40,250  MSRP Range
2019 Volvo XC40

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

40 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Volvo XC40?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

So far; so good! (Our 4th Volvo from this dealer.)

by AFA72 from Manchester, NH on Tue May 15 2018

We've been a long-time XC-60 owner (2011) and it's really tough to feel a difference in size to this XC-40. Needless to say, the XC-40 has got all the bells and whistles one would ("should"?) expect from a Volvo. The comfort and secure driving feeling is about as good as any car that was even remotely in our price range (and we've had a lower/mid-end Mercedes during this same period). In fact the visibility and driving cues is what sold us on the XC-40. The touch screen control for the features and amenities is clear, easy-to-see and intuitive...apparently, shared in all the new-generation Volvos. The back space is plenty for a good day out shopping and, maybe, a couple of golf bags. You'd have to do some serious grocery-buying to fill it. One could haul some 8', 2" x 4" if it came down to it (but I'd borrow our son's truck before doing that it this car!!! :-) ) We've only had it a couple of weeks but we like it a bit better each time we have it out...and what more could you ask for from a car? P.S. The combined in-town (mainly)/highway range was over 400 miles on the first tank and right at 26 mpg...and it isn't "broken in" yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Test Drive the XC40R, you'll buy it!

by Tom&Lori from Lexington Park, MD on Sun Apr 29 2018

Just drove it home. In a crowded market, the XC40R stands out - great looking design with innovative, consumer focused features. Seating is top-shelf, extremely comfortable and highly adjustable. Roomy, rear seating and cargo area the most user-friendly, adaptable I've seen. Ride is outstanding with super responsive steering and a number of selectable driving modes to fit your need for the trip. Absolutely a "homerun" on this vehicle from top to bottom, front to rear!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible vehicle through and through.

by xc40lover from Riverside, CA on Sat May 05 2018

I had been following the XC-40 since the Summer of 2017 when it was widely announced. It seemed too good to be true - beautiful design, Volvo safety, all the bells and whistles, fuel efficient - but I can attest to its reality. This car drives well, handles well, can be conservative on fuel for long hauls but punchy in time of need, is comfortable and adjustable inside, and has so many convenient little features that I couldn't list them all. A great attention to detail went into the design of the XC-40. Seemingly every usable surface has some function or purpose. Its comfort and utility, combined with how absolutely joyous it is to drive, make this easily the best small-size SUV for the money on the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2019 Volvo XC40 R-Design

by Karen from Wantage, NJ on Wed Apr 04 2018

This Car is AMAZING!!!!! Size is perfect for a couple of "empty nesters" and is so fun to drive!!! Plenty of room for traveling and extremely comfortable!! I highly recommend this vehicle! Volvo, you out did yourself on this one!!! THANK YOU!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car

by Wally 678 from Laguna Niguel, CA on Thu Jun 28 2018

This car drives so smoothly and hugs the road. I love the way it handles . It's stylish and meets my needs exactly. Good acceleration and fuel efficient. Just love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Moxie40 from ME on Sat May 05 2018

I love this car. I have been following it online before it was on the market. It is all it is advertised to be. Floats on air and turns on a dime. Full of great safety features. Stereo is great. Screen is easy to understand if you take the time to read all that it does. Online manual has extra info on car and has 600 plus pages - worth the read. I got all the packages which I recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Roomiest small SUV/crossover

by Denny on Tue May 15 2018

Turbo-charged 4 cylinders have plenty of power, good gas mileage, roomy rear storage, handsome exterior, AWD, sophisticated electronics including voice control, front/side/rear sensors warn & stop car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase of my life to date.

by Michael from Robbinsville NJ on Mon Apr 23 2018

This brand new model lived up to all the hype. I couldn’t be more satisfied with the vehicle itself and the buying process from Princeton Volvo. I ordered the car before it even enter the market and so far it is the best choice I have made. The quality and the styling are both above all expectations!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice little SUV

by Rolvo731 from Edison, NJ on Wed Jun 06 2018

Love my Volvo so far! 1 month in and couldn?t be more satisfied! With the exception of city mileage being less then expected. Time will tell. This is a must drive if you?re looking for smaller SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

WE wanted and love this car!!!

by Dennis from Los Agneles, CA on Thu Aug 23 2018

We love this car. WE have owned Volvos for 35 years. WE had one that had over 400,000 miles. Wish we could have sat in on some of the design areas for the car. Everything works and generally works well but with everything on a computer, the learning curve may be interesting(?) and getting to the information is not always easily intuitive. Not good or bad, just a bit different. That being said, this is the car we wanted and we had looked at more than six different vehicles in the same class.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2019 Volvo XC40

The verdict:

The XC40 is a stylish, fun-to-drive subcompact that packs the utility of a bigger SUV.

Versus the competition:

The XC40 offers distinctive looks and competitive luxury and technology — all with more practicality than many luxury subcompacts.

The 2019 XC40, Volvo's new small SUV, takes aim at urban and younger buyers with a technical, even cute design and impressive attention to detail. It will do battle with established luxury subcompact SUVs like the Audi Q3, BMW X1 and Mercedes-Benz GLA-Class.

The XC40 is no lightweight compared with Volvo's well-regarded bigger SUVs (except in actual weight): It offers most of the multimedia and safety tech brainpower of the compact XC60 and the mid-size three-row XC90, Cars.com's Best of 2016 winner. But it comes in a tidier, city-size package that's almost a foot shorter and priced about $6,000 lower than a comparable XC60. 

For this review, I drove the two versions that... Read More