2019 XC40

Consumer Reviews
2019 Volvo XC40

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

28 Reviews
2019 Volvo XC40
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.7 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.9 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.8 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.9 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

So far; so good! (Our 4th Volvo from this dealer.)

by AFA72 from Manchester, NH on May 15, 2018

We've been a long-time XC-60 owner (2011) and it's really tough to feel a difference in size to this XC-40. Needless to say, the XC-40 has got all the bells and whistles one would ("should"?) expect from a Volvo. The comfort and secure driving feeling is about as good as any car that was even remotely in our price range (and we've had a lower/mid-end Mercedes during this same period). In fact the visibility and driving cues is what sold us on the XC-40. The touch screen control for the features and amenities is clear, easy-to-see and intuitive...apparently, shared in all the new-generation Volvos. The back space is plenty for a good day out shopping and, maybe, a couple of golf bags. You'd have to do some serious grocery-buying to fill it. One could haul some 8', 2" x 4" if it came down to it (but I'd borrow our son's truck before doing that it this car!!! :-) ) We've only had it a couple of weeks but we like it a bit better each time we have it out...and what more could you ask for from a car? P.S. The combined in-town (mainly)/highway range was over 400 miles on the first tank and right at 26 mpg...and it isn't "broken in" yet.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Test Drive the XC40R, you'll buy it!

by Tom&Lori from Lexington Park, MD on April 29, 2018

Just drove it home. In a crowded market, the XC40R stands out - great looking design with innovative, consumer focused features. Seating is top-shelf, extremely comfortable and highly adjustable. Roomy, rear seating and cargo area the most user-friendly, adaptable I've seen. Ride is outstanding with super responsive steering and a number of selectable driving modes to fit your need for the trip. Absolutely a "homerun" on this vehicle from top to bottom, front to rear!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Incredible vehicle through and through.

by xc40lover from Riverside, CA on May 5, 2018

I had been following the XC-40 since the Summer of 2017 when it was widely announced. It seemed too good to be true - beautiful design, Volvo safety, all the bells and whistles, fuel efficient - but I can attest to its reality. This car drives well, handles well, can be conservative on fuel for long hauls but punchy in time of need, is comfortable and adjustable inside, and has so many convenient little features that I couldn't list them all. A great attention to detail went into the design of the XC-40. Seemingly every usable surface has some function or purpose. Its comfort and utility, combined with how absolutely joyous it is to drive, make this easily the best small-size SUV for the money on the market.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2019 Volvo XC40 R-Design

by Karen from Wantage, NJ on April 4, 2018

This Car is AMAZING!!!!! Size is perfect for a couple of "empty nesters" and is so fun to drive!!! Plenty of room for traveling and extremely comfortable!! I highly recommend this vehicle! Volvo, you out did yourself on this one!!! THANK YOU!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great car

by Moxie40 from ME on May 5, 2018

I love this car. I have been following it online before it was on the market. It is all it is advertised to be. Floats on air and turns on a dime. Full of great safety features. Stereo is great. Screen is easy to understand if you take the time to read all that it does. Online manual has extra info on car and has 600 plus pages - worth the read. I got all the packages which I recommend.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nice Trendy Car

by JW3NY from Somers, NY on April 16, 2018

The XC40 is a beautiful SUV. Lots of technology. It drive very nice. It is pretty quick considering it is a 4 cylinder. The new controls take some getting use to. There is a lot of technology packed in this car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous Car

by Brittany from San Diego, CA on July 7, 2018

I think this is a great car. It is a nice small SUV but super spacious. I also love the fact that you can roll the windows down with the clicker. The touchscreen takes some getting used to and needs to be played around with but so far it is very great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice little SUV

by Rolvo731 from Edison, NJ on June 6, 2018

Love my Volvo so far! 1 month in and couldn?t be more satisfied! With the exception of city mileage being less then expected. Time will tell. This is a must drive if you?re looking for smaller SUV

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Media Hype aside this is a great vehicle!

by Sima71 from Phoenix, AZ on June 15, 2018

I have owned this vehicle for a bit over a month now, and I am in love with it. It?s modern minimalist design is truly pleasing. The drive is significantly better than other CUV?s and the tech is amazing!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best purchase of my life to date.

by Michael from Robbinsville NJ on April 23, 2018

This brand new model lived up to all the hype. I couldn’t be more satisfied with the vehicle itself and the buying process from Princeton Volvo. I ordered the car before it even enter the market and so far it is the best choice I have made. The quality and the styling are both above all expectations!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3
Our Expert Review: 2019 Volvo XC40