2005 Tahoe

Consumer Reviews

2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

$3,040 - $12,100  MSRP Range
2005 Chevrolet Tahoe

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

40 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Chevrolet Tahoe?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 40 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

The road warrior

by SUV enthusiast from Raleigh, NC on Mon Feb 13 2012

Bought my 2005 Z71 Tahoe late last year. I wanted an SUV that could handle family trips with safety and comfort, also handle snow, ice and mud, with some off road capability; as well as tow my large boat on occasion.. My Z71 can do it all with grace, luxury and style. It is thirsty on fuel.. but I expected that... with this brute. no way I am going to put my family in a toaster oven SUV or small car without heavy metal protection.. no complaints, love the Z71 Tahoe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2005 Tahoe

by jsjs7474 from colorado springs on Mon Sep 05 2011

Bought new with the Z71 package. Absolutely love interior comfort and sizing being 6'4". 100,000 miles later still like the comfort would like a bit better quality. Have replace water pump (bad gasket), instrument cluster, shift solonid, mass flow sensor, intake gaskets, fuse panel (bad wire harness cut out blower motor) and the fuel pump/sending unit needs done. I would think for building a bazillion of these Chevy would have had it all figured out by now. I foresee keeping this forever absolutely best road trip vehicle out there.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice looking and really comfortable

by Love being on the road comfortable from Arlington, Texas on Wed Aug 24 2011

This truck/SUV is what a family needs, I love all the detail that went into this vehicle, power windows almost everything. I love that I was able to program my seat settings. This is a nice looking vehicle too, regardless of gas prices sometimes you just have to make up the difference and I'm really glad that I choose this vehicle. My entire family rides comfortable, I needed extra room to pick up my grandkids and wow I just love the way everyone feels about our mini trips.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Good Value

by johnv2323 from Billerica MA on Mon Jan 16 2012

Purchased this Tahoe after my truck was t-boned but a driver who went through a stop sign. Have always had a truck so moving to the Tahoe was a big change for me. I like the body style better than the previous models and the newer models, too boxy. 05 Tahoe was the right fit for me at this time and the price was right,

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevy Tahoes Forever

by Eve from Conway,Arkansas on Tue Apr 14 2015

I previously had an Expedition before the Chevy Tahoe. Always had problems. No comparison! Especially after the accident where I rolled the Tahoe & landed upside down flat as a pancake & walked out by the Grace of G-D without 1 broken bone. Yes, I was black, blue & purple & injured but this vehicle saved my life & I will buy another one. It's a solid tank. I highly recommend it. I am a senior citizen female. I hope this review has helped you.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

TOUGH , DURABLE, BEST SUV I'VE OWNED

by 05TAHOE5.3LT from TRACY, CA on Tue Jul 15 2008

MY 05 CHEVY tAHOE IS THE MOST RELIABLE VEHICLE WE EVER OWNED. iT CAN TOW 7700 POUNDS AND HAUL 1500 POUNDS AS WELL AS 8 PPL. 5.3L V8 IS TOP NOTCH. IM THINKN 0-60 N 8.0 FLAT. IT HAS 67,00 MILES ON IT AND HAS NEVER BROKEN DWN IT PUT MY 2000 EXPEDITION TO SHAME WICH WAS TRADED N 4 MY 03 TAHOE WICH I TRADED N 4 AN 05

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Family Vehicle

by Snow Country Traveller from Philadelphia, PA on Sun Dec 13 2015

Bought this 2005 southern vehicle to replace our 2000 Suburban which we bought new and had 235,000 on it. The dependability of these vehicles is second to none. Previously had a 2001 Tahoe that I used for business, and was still going strong when I sold it with 287,000 miles. Love the Autoride suspension - had that on my 01 also, and the ride & handling it provides is tremendous.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Chevyv Tahoe

by Nickly from Hollywood, MD on Fri Apr 20 2018

One of the best 4X4 SUV’s ever made. Comfortable and reliable. You see so many on the road cause the people that have them don’t want to get rid of them.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2005 Tahoe 4x4

by AndreT from Mississippi on Tue Jul 18 2006

Very nice vehicle in most ways. When it comes to gas I hate it! This thing sucks gas like nobody's business. The milage is laughable. But, if you can afford this vehicle then it's versatility is great for large families. We also have a 2000 suburban (which is wonderful on gas) that we also love and I drive to work daily (one way to work =50+ miles). Both are great vehicles. Tahoe has about 26k miles, Suburban has 104k miles and runs great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I?ve owned

by Deb420 from Fort Myers FL on Wed Mar 28 2018

This is one of the most comfortable vehicles I?ve ever owned. I took it for a road trip to VA once, and it drove very smoothly. Never had an issue with this vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4