Find out if this car is the best match for you.
2005 Escape

Consumer Reviews

2005 Ford Escape

$1,383 - $7,779  MSRP Range
2005 Ford Escape

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

75 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.2 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.3 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.3 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.3 out of 5 stars Performance
4.3 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2005 Ford Escape?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 75 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable new car I've owned

by Soccer Enthusiast from St. Louis, Mo. on Sat Oct 02 2010

Bought Escape new in late 2005 and have put 135,000 plus miles. With exception of new tires (at 101,000 miles) & Btry & Brakes replaced- Have only had scheduled maintenance (oil,filters,transmission fluid,coolant). Wish could find another as reliable. Only minor complaint-interior noisy at hi-way speeds.Need to keep windows closed when listening to Click & Clack.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

67 out of 67 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The Great Escape

by JaLester from Amarillo, Texas on Sat May 24 2008

Couldn't be happier with the purchase of our used 2005 Escape. My wife and I love the size and it's maneuverability in town. The gas mileage could be better, but the engine is very peppy and probably induces a lead foot that hurts the mpg. Cargo room is plentiful and headroom in the front seat is almost ridiculous. When you drive the car you don't feel closed in at all, it feels like you are in a much larger car. Other small suv's don't have that feeling at all, this truly is the great escape.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

33 out of 33 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is a very fine auto

by Moose Man from Mpls., MN on Sat Apr 17 2010

I love Escape. I have more than 100,000 on an '05 and haven't done anything except put new tires on it fantastic car and I will buy another.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my Escape

by Judy from Pittsburgh PA on Mon Jun 06 2011

I love this vehicle. Bought it new in 2005 have put 150,000 miles on it so far and have never had any trouble with the vehicle. Would buy another one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

ONLY Ford I would Drive

by Niki from orlando on Fri Mar 28 2014

Wasn't a fan of Ford but this vehicle has never stopped on me. very reliable. Had it for 5 years bought it used and was the 3rd owner. Loved it. Sold it to get a minivan as our family expanded.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it

by ideal ride from Hugo, MN on Sun Nov 08 2009

I purchased 05 Escape V6 XLT used with 60000 miles on it. I love it. For such a little SUV its got great pickup. Its very roomy and comfortable. If I had to recommend anything it would have to be a automatic tail gait with a push button on the remote, but that is it. Eveything else I love about it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great compact suv

by Bob from TX on Tue Sep 22 2009

I bought my 05 Escape V6 AWD used with 50k miles on it and I now have almost 80k. It has never been in the shop for anything besides oil change etc. Yeah, MPG isn't the greatest but overall I've definitely been impressed with its reliability. The V6 gives it peppy handling, good passing ability, though this noticeably declines when you add passengers and cargo. I don't really have anything overwhelming negative to say about it, so I would recommend it.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

it's good

by polarbear from addison, il. on Sun Jan 28 2007

try it, i think you will enjoy it. i have own my ford for about 3 mo. it's a good small suv. very good in snow. performance above ave. epa around town is 17mpg.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Escape

by POP POP from Washington State on Sat Sep 15 2012

A joy to drive. The 6 banger has alot of zip. Handles great has alot of room inside. Great field of view. Easy to use interrior features

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great mid sized SUV

by 1st time buyer from Rochester, NY on Sat Sep 01 2012

Great used car! Unfortunately, already had to replace brakes and will need 4 new tires by the winter! Still love my "new" car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2005 Ford Escape

After my story about the Honda Accord V6 Hybrid a couple of weeks ago, I received plenty of thoughtful e-mail from the Times' astute readership, who had apparently found the column by accident while looking for the Food section.

Several writers questioned the break-even calculation comparing the price premium of the Accord Hybrid model (about $3,400 over a similarly equipped V6) with potential fuel-cost savings. Assuming $2.25 per gallon and 100 miles of daily commuting, it would take, I wrote, about 6 1/2 years to recoup the difference.

Hang on, wrote one reader: That would add up to almost 240,000 miles. Had I factored in the cost of replacing the battery pack (about a $3,000 part) or the other hybrid... Read More