2019 Expedition

Consumer Reviews

2019 Ford Expedition

$29,875 - $60,191  MSRP Range
2019 Ford Expedition

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

61 Reviews
95% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.7 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Ford Expedition?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 61 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

I love this car

by Great car from Dallas Pa on Thu Jul 18 2019

Lots of room it is big and has a truck from and I feel safer than any other car. Has every feature I like and not to bad on fuel. This is the second one we own.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable and easy to drive

by Puckett from Hollister, MO on Fri Jul 19 2019

Great addition to our growing family, we loved our Ford F250 but we were out growing it and needed more room. We are loving our new Expedition!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best full size suv

by Phillipsfamdamily from Corona, Ca on Thu Mar 07 2019

LOVE this SUV! Super comforable, drives great, and a lot of room for even full grown adults in all 3 rows. So glad we bought it, over a Yukon or Tahoe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very stylish, comfortable and great to drive

by William from Midland on Wed Nov 14 2018

This vehicle is very user friendly, it has passenger convenience at every seat. it is very stylish, comfortable, rides very smooth and has a lot of get up and go when needed.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle!

by WI from MILWAUKEE WI on Sun Jan 26 2020

Purchased a 2019 Expedition XLT with almost all the options about 5 months ago. The excellent discount and 0% financing offer was what ultimately drove me to trade in my 2016 GMC Yukon (with over 120k miles). I love the Expedition’s styling, functionality, and features. A few of my favorite things are the panoramic sunroof, adaptive cruise control, and the tip and slide second row seats, which allow access to the third row with car seats (another factor in getting rid of the Yukon). Ford had taken the dated long standing body style of the Expedition and updated it to eliminate many nuances of their competitors. The 3.5 liter Ecoboost engine is also amazing, I love the power it provides. The driving modes are also a welcome addition, and when paired with the AWD, make it great in the snow. I drive about 34k miles a year and have about 13k on it so far, and there have been no unexpected trips to the dealer to date. A few opportunities: there are some infotainment nuances coming from GM that are somewhat disappointing (such as lack of integration with driver screen, vehicle navigation being inaccessible when using CarPlay, and lack of scrolling presets/ ability to change this with a setting). Also, to date gas mileage has been below expectations, and is slightly worse than my previous Yukon, where it should be slightly better on paper (Expedition’s in dash computer also always overstates by at least 1 MPG over manual calculation), but to be fair, the winter blend of gas is currently in use, which always drops MPGs. All in all for the money and value, I highly recommend the Expedition for hauling family and commuting.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2019 Ford Expedition-Stealth Edition

by HockeyMom from Pearl River, NY on Wed Mar 18 2020

Purchased a 2019 Ford Expedition Stealth. This is a great truck. Beautiful looking with a roomy interior. Owned a 2016, I had no issues with that vehicle. Was ready for an upgrade and new styling of the 2019. Love it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle

by Jeanne Dav from MENDON on Mon Jun 10 2019

I love this vehicle, so much easier than the Tahoe i gave up! Easy technology, easier on the road, i love my bench seat, feel comfortable as a driver.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Nicest car I e owned

by Andy from Milledgeville ga on Thu Feb 20 2020

This car is very nice, bought it for the room and to pull my camper, so far it is awesome, only had it about a month though, have not had a chance to pull the camper or really see enough about it yet, my opinion on price is they are all over rated on price. Cars cost too much. With all the technology today they still don’t get any better on gas mileage.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I had

by Wild from chicago on Wed Sep 25 2019

Wild and safe Compared to the typical three-row crossover SUV, the 2019 Ford Expedition looks like a superhero. It's able to carry eight passengers and tow nearly as much as a full-size truck. And while it's certainly a large vehicle, there's very little else that can match the Expedition for outright capability. Available in three trim levels, each with multiple options, the Expedition should suit a wide variety of needs. You can get the XLT for just the basics, or you can spring for the loaded-up Platinum that can rival a luxury SUV for features. Its expansive interior is attractive and remains comfortable and quiet on the highway. The Expedition's powerful turbocharged V6 engine (375 horsepower, or 400 hp for the Platinum trim) also gives the SUV impressive gusto and makes it one of the quickest in the class. The 10-speed automatic transmission helps to make the most of this engine's power and aids fuel economy. Premium fuel is needed to get the most power from this engine, though.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

2 out of 5 stars

Brand new vehicle, got stranded.

by Rungee from Houston, TX on Fri Nov 29 2019

Brand new vehicle, not even 500 miles on it. Steering went out and was stuck on Thanksgiving Day. Dealer says 4 to 5 days to get it back. Nothing like paying a huge payment for a vehicle you don’t have, that stranded you and and your family. If it broke already I can’t image what kind stuff is up to come. What a joke

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does not recommend this car!!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Our Take on the 2019 Ford Expedition

The verdict:

Big, bold and fully updated, the Expedition has the goods to take the sales crown away from the Chevrolet Tahoe.

 

Versus the competition:

It may not have a V-8, but you won’t miss the two extra cylinders; it has plenty of power and more usable space and useful technology than any other SUV in the class.

 

Just as minivans replaced the family station wagon in the 1980s, so too did big SUVs vanquish those vans in the 1990s. Since then, however, the Great Recession and occasional gas price shocks have returned the largest SUVs to their original role in the market: expensive vehicles bought by people who need big, multi-passenger vehicles that can tow a lot of weight. The segment leaders are the Chevrolet Tahoe and its longer sibling, the Suburban, and it isn’t hard to figure out why: Their main competitor, the Ford Expedition, hadn’t seen a major update in almost a decade.

Now all that has changed. Behold the behemoth: an all-new 2018 Ford Expedition that aims to knock the Chevy off its top-truck... Read More