2014 Explorer

Consumer Reviews
2014 Ford Explorer

Change Vehicle

Reviews Summary

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

128 Reviews
2014 Ford Explorer
4.8 out of 5 starsComfort
4.6 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.7 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.7 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.7 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

All Reviews

1 - 10 of 128 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Explorer Limited

by Not my first Ford from Chicago on April 16, 2014

Great ride for an SUV! Roomy interior in both first and second row seats!! i love the clean lines of the interior - easy to clean. Gas mileage is as reported so far. the Limited model with the 302A package gives you plenty of options and comfort. The voice control of the Climate, Radio, Navigation, Phone is great feature (once you get use to it)!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lasting Reliability

by Ford buyer from Sparks, NV on February 22, 2014

Our 2007 Explorer was one of the best vehicles we've owned. We are planning on the new 2014 being even better. Our experience with Explorers is that they are a long lasting reliable performance SUV. We are looking forward to this continuing to hold true.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I ever owned

by Halford from Los Angeles, CA on August 10, 2015

Wow of all Wow's! Powerful engine, all the electronic features are champ in the league! I bought it and drove it and it runs smoothly that I wasn't aware that I was speeding. The cruise control helps me from getting a ticket! It sped up on hilly interstate where I live! my friends rode with me, commended how wonderful the ride was. I wake up in the morning looking forward driving my Explorer "Whitey".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by LDF from Providence, RI on March 7, 2016

I love my new explorer! Pros: - Big - Comfy - Stylish Cons: - Gas millage All in all I love the SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 4x4 Beach Vehicle EVER

by Beach Goer from New Jersey on September 23, 2014

I just ran my 2014 Explorer all over the beach at the Outer Banks for 2 weeks (100+ miles on the sand). I have made many trips there in the past in 2 Jeeps and a Durango. It is by far the best vehicle I ever have driven on the beach. Deep sand, ruts, no issue, it goes where you point it and doesn't bang your head on the roof. I'll take technology now, you keep the truck format of my previous 4x4's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 Ford EXplorer EXT - New

by beau1943 from Indiana on August 30, 2014

This automobile is top of the the line. Beautiful exterior design. The interior is excellent but I don't like how the seats are laid back or down. The leather interior appearance is also beautiful. The engine runs quietly and excellent performance and power for a V6. The gas mileage is satisfactory on the road. Presently getting average of 21 miles per gallon road and city driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Explorer with EcoBoost

by New owner from Sc on April 19, 2014

I bought a 2014 Explorer with 2.5L EcoBoost engine. I am very happy so far. I just completed a 1200 mile round trip from South Carolina to Ohio including a lot of mountain driving through West Virgina. The vehicle handled the many curves very well with no noticeable swaying or drifting. I was pleasantly surprised with the power provided by the 2.5L engine, even on steep inclines cruise control maintained speed with only occasional down shifting. Equally important it held speed downhill without need for breaking. Fuel economy was 25.3 mpg for entire trip, however vehicle only had 200 miles on odometer at start of trip. The voice command entertainment center and climate control was easily learned and allowed for keeping concentration on driving in congested traffic. On a negative note visibility to either side for changing lanes is totally dependent on small wide angle mirrors on side mirrors. There is a bit of a learning curve to using them and not being able to just glance that direction. The seating was comfortable and even though my wife and I were traveling with two adolescent grand daughters there was sufficient space for all the luggage with the third row seating folded down. Overall the Explorer was a pleasure to drive and performed up to expectations. Compared to similar vehicles of other makes I checked out, the Ford Exploer is a good value for the money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice large vehicle

by danimal328 from Illinois on December 16, 2013

Very large interior but easy to drive. Also has some great pick up for such a large vehicle. Comparable price to other SUV's; Grand Cherokee, Equinox, Durango, but you are getting the same MPG, but a much large vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Totally impressed!!

by Ms Tate from Oakland, CA on December 21, 2014

I have rented two Ford Explorers in the past two years to drive them across country to relocate my daughter; the year was 2011 and we were able to rent a 2012. Then on our second trip we were in a 2014. I was sold on the Explorer after such a comfy ride, great gas mileage on the road. LOVE IT!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Ford Explorer

by Don from St. George KS on August 18, 2015

Very nice car. Love it's look on the inside and out. Have only had it for 3 days so it is still new to us.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 13
Our Expert Review: 2014 Ford Explorer