2014 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2014 Ford Explorer

$676 - $41,292  MSRP Range
2014 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

134 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2014 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 134 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Explorer Limited

by Not my first Ford from Chicago on Wed Apr 16 2014

Great ride for an SUV! Roomy interior in both first and second row seats!! i love the clean lines of the interior - easy to clean. Gas mileage is as reported so far. the Limited model with the 302A package gives you plenty of options and comfort. The voice control of the Climate, Radio, Navigation, Phone is great feature (once you get use to it)!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV I ever owned

by Halford from Los Angeles, CA on Mon Aug 10 2015

Wow of all Wow's! Powerful engine, all the electronic features are champ in the league! I bought it and drove it and it runs smoothly that I wasn't aware that I was speeding. The cruise control helps me from getting a ticket! It sped up on hilly interstate where I live! my friends rode with me, commended how wonderful the ride was. I wake up in the morning looking forward driving my Explorer "Whitey".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lasting Reliability

by Ford buyer from Sparks, NV on Sat Feb 22 2014

Our 2007 Explorer was one of the best vehicles we've owned. We are planning on the new 2014 being even better. Our experience with Explorers is that they are a long lasting reliable performance SUV. We are looking forward to this continuing to hold true.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Outdoor sports (hiking, cycling, etc.)

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best 4x4 Beach Vehicle EVER

by Beach Goer from New Jersey on Tue Sep 23 2014

I just ran my 2014 Explorer all over the beach at the Outer Banks for 2 weeks (100+ miles on the sand). I have made many trips there in the past in 2 Jeeps and a Durango. It is by far the best vehicle I ever have driven on the beach. Deep sand, ruts, no issue, it goes where you point it and doesn't bang your head on the roof. I'll take technology now, you keep the truck format of my previous 4x4's.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great SUV

by LDF from Providence, RI on Mon Mar 07 2016

I love my new explorer! Pros: - Big - Comfy - Stylish Cons: - Gas millage All in all I love the SUV!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

2014 Ford EXplorer EXT - New

by beau1943 from Indiana on Sat Aug 30 2014

This automobile is top of the the line. Beautiful exterior design. The interior is excellent but I don't like how the seats are laid back or down. The leather interior appearance is also beautiful. The engine runs quietly and excellent performance and power for a V6. The gas mileage is satisfactory on the road. Presently getting average of 21 miles per gallon road and city driving.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Totally impressed!!

by Ms Tate from Oakland, CA on Sun Dec 21 2014

I have rented two Ford Explorers in the past two years to drive them across country to relocate my daughter; the year was 2011 and we were able to rent a 2012. Then on our second trip we were in a 2014. I was sold on the Explorer after such a comfy ride, great gas mileage on the road. LOVE IT!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Nice large vehicle

by danimal328 from Illinois on Mon Dec 16 2013

Very large interior but easy to drive. Also has some great pick up for such a large vehicle. Comparable price to other SUV's; Grand Cherokee, Equinox, Durango, but you are getting the same MPG, but a much large vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love at first sight.

by CausinChaos from Miami, Florida on Sun Aug 18 2013

Saw a 2013 ford Explorer zoom past me on I-95 last year, and although I got a quick glimpse I fell in love with it at that moment. Couldn?t find a 2013 with everything I wanted so I ordered the 2014 straight from the factory assembly line. Very smooth and comfortable ride and getting a lot of complements.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Generally an excellant car

by ernst from Frederick, MD on Mon Aug 19 2013

This is fully loaded limited model. I really have fun with it. Don't bother will the cross bar unless absolutely necessary as they produce much noise that can't be abated. Also the explorer has little space for storing things like pungy cords, flares, etc. there is sufficient storage in front for personal items. Over all a fun car and rides fairly smooth.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 14

Our Take on the 2014 Ford Explorer

Ford's mild updates to the 2014 Explorer bring a more confident driving feel to the big SUV, but a weight problem and an underpowered base model keep the experience ordinary.

The car-based Ford Explorer is a big departure from the truck-based Explorers of old; if you haven't been in an Explorer in the past couple of years, the current one is sure to surprise you. It's been selling relatively well since its 2011 introduction, and the company hopes to keep the streak going with some mild revisions for 2014. New brakes and the steering from last year's more powerful Sport model now grace regular versions of the Explorer, which Ford says gives it improved driving feel. A few upgrades to standard equipment... Read More