2018 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$32,140 - $53,940  MSRP Range
2018 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

154 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 154 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

I?m in love with my car!

by Hlt1234 from Norwood, MA on Thu Mar 15 2018

Best car I have ever owned. After our 25 inches of snow I just drove right over it. It fits my entire family and dog! I never want another car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Our 3rd Explorer. Hands down the best!

by Honest consumer from Ca on Wed May 23 2018

The 2018 Ford Explorer Sport Rocks! We had a 2014 Ford Explorer Limited, loaded with 2nd row bucket seats. We liked it but it had only 290hp. So we traded it in for a 2016 Ford Explorer Sport with 365hp and 350lb-ft. of torque! We loved this one, but the Sync infotainment system sucks.. All is solved now! We got a 2018 Ford Explorer Sport and the new Sync3 system works like a dream! It has both Apple CarPlay and Android Auto! We got all the safety bells and whistles, including double moon roof, bucket seats in second row etc. My son?s over 6ft. tall and he can fit in the third row just fine. This one?s a keeper!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

So excited to be driving our new Explorer!

by Lynn L from Hobe Sound, FL on Fri Mar 30 2018

Searching for an SUV with a third row of seats to accommodate kids and dogs, we studied Consumer Reports, read online reviews on several sites, talked to friends, and visited three dealerships. We are so happy we settled on the Explorer. It has power, beauty, and up-to-date technology. What a pleasure to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most fun to drive everyday SUV I have driven.

by Commander from Benton, Illinois on Sat May 19 2018

I have driven many SUV's and this one is THE one! Smooth, good fuel economy, fast when I need it to be, roomy and it looks rugged and handsome. I was trying to decide between the Explorer, the VW Atlas and the Toyota 4 Runner. All have 3 row seating and look great but the Explorer is the value of the bunch. My XLT came in over $5K less than the next SUV. For that savings with similar or better features it is hard to beat. Definitely a 5/5!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle choice for us

by MI tree77 from Coldwater, MI on Sat Mar 10 2018

Previously owned a 2015 Explore. This car is vastly improved over that vehicle. Great upgrade in technology makes this car fun to own and drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV Yet!

by jlcaz from Phoenix, AZ on Sat Jul 14 2018

We were researching SUVs for a long time and had driven or ridden in a number of them in the last few years. We finally zeroed in on the Ford Explorer based on features, value and past experience with Ford vehicles as well as other makes. We couldn?t be more pleased with our choice to buy a Platinm Explorer. The comfort, performance and features are everything we hoped for.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Explorer!

by Char from Livingston TX on Wed Nov 29 2017

Great driving experience. Easy handling. All the bells and whistles for a great price! I love my Explorer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We Love This Car!

by Maureen20 from Floyds Knobs, Indiana on Sat Jun 30 2018

We love our new Ford Explorer Platinum! It rides so smoothly, and is incredibly comfortable! The car is a beautiful Ruby Red, and is equipped with every feature one can think of. I particularly like the new Tech features...The Ford Sync is a great feature, and everything that is controlled for the screen in the front. The safety features of the car are very important to our family. With grand children riding in this car we would not skimp on this most important feature. We love driving our Ford Explorer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Ford Quality-we are a Ford family!

by Cougar0316 from Lebanon, Pa on Tue Apr 10 2018

Truly a great ride and has many features that I am looking forward to using. Love Ford products and really can’t wait to use this vehicle more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Would recommend this vehicle to anyone very confy

by Matt & Jessica from Wauchula Florida on Mon Mar 26 2018

Excellent ride and comfort for anyone and plenty of power love the color and most of all my wife loves it did kinda a surprise for her she didn’t know we were buying that day

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 16