2018 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

$20,523 - $38,339  MSRP Range
2018 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.9 out of 5 stars

4.9

260 Reviews
98% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.9 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.9 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
5 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2018 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

So excited to be driving our new Explorer!

by Lynn L from Hobe Sound, FL on Fri Mar 30 2018

Searching for an SUV with a third row of seats to accommodate kids and dogs, we studied Consumer Reports, read online reviews on several sites, talked to friends, and visited three dealerships. We are so happy we settled on the Explorer. It has power, beauty, and up-to-date technology. What a pleasure to drive!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Initial impression...First drive from NH to FL

by Loub52 on Fri Oct 26 2018

2018 XLT with leather, cruise and 3.5 L V6. Planned 3 day drive. Just finishing 10 hours on day 2. Very comfortable, getting 22 MPG. Super pleased with the heated steering wheel and seats. Plenty of room to pack for a 3 week trip and 2 adults. Ours has bucket 2nd row seats and 3rd row seating offering more options for extra passengers and/or packing when needed. Packing for 2 includes golf clubs, fishing poles and for any group, a cooler. Only concern for some may be a relatively small fuel tank for this spacious and comfortable of a vehicle...keep an eye on the fuel level when travelling long distances between stops.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Excellent vehicle choice for us

by MI tree77 from Coldwater, MI on Sat Mar 10 2018

Previously owned a 2015 Explore. This car is vastly improved over that vehicle. Great upgrade in technology makes this car fun to own and drive.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love my new Explorer!

by Char from Livingston TX on Wed Nov 29 2017

Great driving experience. Easy handling. All the bells and whistles for a great price! I love my Explorer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Would recommend this vehicle to anyone very confy

by Matt & Jessica from Wauchula Florida on Mon Mar 26 2018

Excellent ride and comfort for anyone and plenty of power love the color and most of all my wife loves it did kinda a surprise for her she didn’t know we were buying that day

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely pleased with this purchase

by KB from Cape Elizabeth on Thu Sep 20 2018

This car has exceeded our expectations in every way imaginable. We were hesitant to go with a 4 cylinder but it has proven to perform very well, provide ample power and deliver relatively good fuel economy... we have no regrets. The ride is exceptionally smooth and quiet, the brakes stop well and the handling is very good. The car is very comfortable and feature rich with excellent build quality. After shopping virtually every other comparably sized SUV on the market, the Explorer proved to offer the best combination of interior space, performance, ride quality and overall value. This vehicle deserves serious consideration for anyone needing a roomy and competent family hauler.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love Ford Quality-we are a Ford family!

by Cougar0316 from Lebanon, Pa on Tue Apr 10 2018

Truly a great ride and has many features that I am looking forward to using. Love Ford products and really can’t wait to use this vehicle more.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

We Love This Car!

by Maureen20 from Floyds Knobs, Indiana on Sat Jun 30 2018

We love our new Ford Explorer Platinum! It rides so smoothly, and is incredibly comfortable! The car is a beautiful Ruby Red, and is equipped with every feature one can think of. I particularly like the new Tech features...The Ford Sync is a great feature, and everything that is controlled for the screen in the front. The safety features of the car are very important to our family. With grand children riding in this car we would not skimp on this most important feature. We love driving our Ford Explorer!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great SUV for the Family!

by StellerMan from Lanham, MD on Tue Jul 10 2018

The Ford Explorer is really a best all around vehicle for the family. It has plenty of room (7 seats) and it is packed with tons useful features. The bluetooth was easy to pair, the sound system is amazing, the power options for phone charging were well thought-out as well as the other power options in the vehicle. I got to test drive it for 3 days and my kids loved it just as much as I did!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
0 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great vechile

by CassandraJM from Joplin mo on Sat Mar 30 2019

Have had it a couple of months and on the highway at 75mph with strong wind the windshield molding flew off !! This made me look online at the part and it shows more than 34 complaints of this happening.why in the world has this not been fixed! My car sounds like a window is down on the highway and rattling the dash ! Super sad about this . 40,000 miles on it .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 26