2019 Explorer

Consumer Reviews

2019 Ford Explorer

$20,951 - $38,643  MSRP Range
2019 Ford Explorer

Review Score

4.8 out of 5 stars

4.8

98 Reviews
96% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.9 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Ford Explorer?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 98 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Changed my mind about Ford

by Dog Mom from Mount Juliet, TN on Tue Apr 23 2019

Needed comfort for entry/exit from my vehicle, Mercedes Benz C300 was becoming to painful to ride in, entry/exit. After reading reviews thought I would give the Ford Explorer a test drive and was sold. Granted, I selected the Platinum with all the bells and whistles, but this vehicle rides and handles like a true luxury vehicle. It has met all my expectations, needs, has had great reviews, a very intelligent vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

29 out of 29 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Back for another!

by ClareMK from Grand Rapids, MI on Tue Feb 05 2019

We loved our 2016 Explorer so much, we traded it in for a 2019. These are the best SUVs we've ever driven. They look sharp, are so comfortable inside, and the new upgraded tech make them nearly flawless. Love!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Had Fords Before

by Maddyk from Melbourne, FL on Tue Mar 19 2019

I had a 1996 Eddie Bauer Ford Explorer & the car was one of the best I owned. I kept the car for 10 years and never had any big problems. The car even had the Firestone tire no problem there either. In 10 years I had brakes twice, 2 batteries & new tires one time in 10 years with 100,000 miles. I hope I have the same luck with this car. My new Explorer has all the safety equipment that’s on the market today with a beautiful interior as well as exterior. I am satisfied with the car however I wish I didn’t buy it at that awful Kelly Dealership I. Melbourne, Fl

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Welcome Back

by Tazz from Edmonton Albeerta on Tue Nov 20 2018

Well must say Ford came a long way , i am a sales rep so every 4 years get a new vehicle, Use to drive Ford Windstar , Expedition , Love my Explorer The whole vehicle is unbelievable . Ford World Class !!!!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

New Explorer Sport

by Jerry from Union, Ky on Sat Jun 22 2019

Outstanding value for the money. Good quality vehicle, excellent options, great ride and plenty of power. The fuel mileage is impressive for a 6 cylinder turbo charged engine.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Has the most options

by Poppa Bear from Walland, Tn. on Sun Sep 30 2018

I like the car and all of the things it does like the auto highbeam,and the new features for the cruise control . I would liked to have had quad seats.alsothe bench seats are a pain.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Proud new owner of a Ford Explorer

by Bill98038 from Maple Valley, WA on Tue May 14 2019

Great vehicle, very comfortable to ride in, great visibility, makes driving a pleasure again. Safety features are great without the clutter and distractions on other new vehicles. Features are very intuitive to use. One feature that it came with is the front camera, I didn't think it was necessary, but after trying it out, it really is handy to see what you can't see over the hood of the vehicle.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Smart apps for vehicle is very nice

by Fan of the ford from Austin tx on Sat Sep 14 2019

Leg room Nice details Stereo nice Seats feel great ,nice soft leather I bought the car its great Kids love it Lots of features Love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Lookin good in my new ride

by Scaredofghosts from Bel Air, Md on Thu Aug 15 2019

I have only had my new Explorer Sport for 2 weeks, but it's fantastic! It rides much smoother and is more technologically advanced than the Highlander I test drove. So far so good...I love everything about it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Just bought this but I'm loving it so far!

by Bundlesofbunnies from Salisbury md on Tue Oct 29 2019

Overall, this vehicle is great. I do wish it could raise my seat another inch but it's far better than others I tried. The VW Atlas had far better space but the Explorer has more cargo space. Love love love the cooled seats!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10