2004 CR-V

Consumer Reviews
2004 Honda CR-V

Change Vehicle
4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

65 Reviews
2004 Honda CR-V
4.5 out of 5 starsComfort
4.4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4.3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4.4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4.6 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4.6 out of 5 starsReliability
Write a Review
Write a Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 65 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Overall Good

by Pilot Owner from Ohio on September 9, 2010

I owned an 2002 manual transmission CRV for 8 years. I averaged 25mpg with a combination of city & Hwy driving, which I was happy with. On a big hill it would putt-putt along, but otherwise the power was adequate. LOVE the internal cargo space. Love that it drives with a solid feel of a Honda. Cons: The actuator in the drivers door went out at 60k, so the remote entry no longer worked. Apparently this is common. The compressor blew at 85k, a $1500 repair. This seems to be a common flaw with the AC system. Road Noise. -The internal plastic scratches easily.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great great car

by Fatalone513 from Ohio on May 15, 2011

Super reliable. Have owned for years and have never had a single issue. Great on gas. I have the 5 speed and its very peppy. Great in the snow. Does seem like it needs a 6th gear since at 60+ mph it seems the trans is pegged or sounds wound out. In saying that it does still have lots of power 60+ mph but its at 3100 rpm and noisey. Other thn that best car i have ever owned (have owned 20+ cars).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Vehicle!

by Commuter from Kentucky on December 12, 2012

This is a great vehicle, I own a AWD and have owned it for 13 years and up until this last year have had zero problems. I have done 174 k. I would buy another one in a heartbeat... Great in the snow/rain...

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Loving it

by Honda Girl from Clemmons, NC on February 9, 2013

I've only had this car a week, but I knew I would love it before I bought it. I've been driving Hondas since I was 17 (31 now) and I was hoping to transition into the SUV world with another Honda. I traded performance for reliability, it's not very powerful but driving my kids around town doesn't require horses. I bought it with 80k and I'm hoping it will give me at least another 80!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

nice CRV

by SUV enthusiasst from San Antonio, TX on December 7, 2012

Read about A/C problems but so far it has been working pretty well with now loss of cooling or probs

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Pretty Happy

by Bill from Bay City, Michigan on December 30, 2008

I bought my 2004 CRV LX with 35k miles and put 40,000 miles on it so far. It has been extremely dependable and I have only performed oil changes. I put a 3,500 pound hitch on it and pull 1,700 pounds without a problem. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised that it didn't struggle at all with the weight. Drives like its on rails in snow. If you want a good all-round suv this model will satisfy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

It's a Honda Need I Say Anymore!

by Harrisonc2000 from Kansas City, MO on October 22, 2008

I've had this car since 2004 (new). And I must say I love it! My friends have joked with me about it being a "Soccer Mom Car". Don't care...Would buy another one in a heartbeat.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by jgive from Syracuse, NY on March 22, 2017

The car has been in my family for 13 years and have had almost no issues with the car. It has been comfortable and still is one of the best cars in the winter I have driven.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Extremely reliable car

by SC_honda_driver on June 2, 2018

We've owned this car for 13 years and have never had any trouble with any of the critical drive systems components. It's been extremely reliable. At around 150k miles, the power doors locks started becoming sluggish and one of the locks stopped working, but other than that we've had no problems. This car is comfortable, it drives well, and it's been with us thousands of miles of road trips.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best Car I Have Ever Owned

by 04Baby from Delaware on August 25, 2017

I have a 2004 Honda CRV with over 198,000 miles. I just love this car. I felt I needed to buy something newer and bought a pre-owned 2016 Honda CRV and am so disappointed. I kept my 04 and glad I did. Still trying to decide whether to keep the 16 or not. Honda has ruined the CRV by making it like every other SUV on the market. It was a sporty, casual car and now it's like a luxury car and bigger too. So disappointed in the new ones. Love all the nooks and crannies in my 04. There is absolutely no storage in the new ones. I drive it on the beach and it does great. I take it through the car wash after though. I could go on and on but I love Hondas and they are very reliable and low maintenance. My mechanic says I could get another 100K out of my 04 and I'm sure I could. Best car EVER....:)

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsReliability

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7