NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2017 HR-V

Consumer Reviews

2017 Honda HR-V

$15,320 - $22,632  MSRP Range
2017 Honda HR-V

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

177 Reviews
88% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.8 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 Honda HR-V?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 177 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great value for the money!

by mudslinger from Naples, Fl. on Sat May 06 2017

Fun car to drive the steering is responsive and it handles great. Some reviews complained it wasn't very peppy acceleration wise. But we came from a Prius so it was great for us. Go for the EX if possible the upgrade stereo and climate control is worth it with heated seats. I wish they offered it without the sunroof because we will never use it. Overall a very good value.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

MyHR-V

by eileen from endicott on Wed May 03 2017

Like the way it handles! And I love the deep ocean pearl color ! I drove a Civic for 12 years and liked it but need a car that was higher off the ground so I was sitting up higher. This fits the bill!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

First new Honda purchase.

by abromc454jive from Catlett, VA on Sun Mar 12 2017

I just bought a 2017 HR-V EX AWD a few days ago but I feel in love with them the first time I saw one. I've always driven cars, mostly GM products, and it should be no surprise they were not always reliable. Most were used, but even new ones have been what I consider junk. I've had one prior Honda, an 03 Civic EX but did not have much luck with it. But that's a long story... I'm hoping to have plenty of years of trouble free maintenance on this Honda. If anything major happens I will be sure to update this review. The Misty Green color with black cloth is what I choose and I can't stop staring at it!

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Favorite car I've ever owned!

by Keli2280 from Oklahoma City, OK on Fri Apr 07 2017

I have been researching small SUVs for months looking for smooth handling, a roomy cargo area and decent MPG. The H-RV was hands down the best vehicle for a combo of the three. I got an AWD H-RV EX. The only thing I don't absolutely love is the interior styling--fabric panels on the doors, lack of storage compartments other than the glove compartment, and the weird extra-deep drink holders that are located too far back in the console. Hopefully Honda will fix those things for future models.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Reliable car

by Jncstr from Powell OH on Thu Jan 31 2019

I’m 5’2 and this car suits for me. It’s easy to drive and it’s reliable. My husband is 6’4 he drove it one time and it has plenty of leg room for him. Overall, it’s a decent looking car.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
3 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

A great mini SUV

by Jason from Lexington, KY on Tue Dec 11 2018

My wife and I have owned this car for a little over a year now. So far, it’s been a terrific primary vehicle. It’s comfortable, very roomy and all the ’bells and whistles’ we need. We absolutely love the storage you get with the magic seats. My only complaints, which really are minor is the lack of engine acceleration and the CVT transmission ’droning’ This vehicle is powered by a 142 hp 1.8L engine used in the Civic, so don’t expect to be able to haul trailers with it. What this vehicle is meant for is smartly getting around town and loading the back up for long trips.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
2 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great small suv

by Speedyg from Sana antonio texas on Mon Sep 18 2017

The suv is roomy for small suv lots of leg room and cargo space great gas mileage and well priced handles well looks good and has great blind spot cam

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful and lovely car I've ever owned

by suzie q from 08831 on Thu May 11 2017

This HRV is like a dream to drive. I love it!! The color is a purple blue which I am thrilled with. Driving it is very clean and simple with viewing the road very sharp. The inside has plenty of room for a bike with room to spare. I will love this car for years to come.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Such a good combination of Safety & Reliability

by SusieQ from SunnySarasota on Sun May 12 2019

The visibility is so improved with the HRV in addition to the ability to handle inclement weather conditions... The vehicle is attractive and able to carry children and cargo as necessary...The added height of the vehicle also makes loading and unloading groceries and parcels an easier chore...As a Honda the reliability factor is top notch...

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love this car!

by Carriekaye123 from Enid, OK on Mon May 22 2017

Love this car! It is compact but has plenty of leg room. Love the hatch back and that all the back seats fold down flat so that you can load up larger items. Love the heated leather seats and Sun roof!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 18

Our Take on the 2017 Honda HR-V

The verdict:

The 2016 Honda HR-V is a stylish mini-SUV that doesn't skimp on passenger space or cargo versatility, but numb steering and modest four-cylinder performance detract from its driving experience.

Versus the competition:

The HR-V is part of the SUV boom that's happening now, and the biggest battleground is the fast-growing subcompact SUV class.

Editor's note: This review was written in April 2015 about the 2016 Honda HR-V, but little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2017, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years. 

The HR-V is loosely related to the Honda Fit hatchback and is built in the same Mexican assembly plant. It's nearly as wide and tall as Honda's CR-V compact SUV but about 10 inches shorter overall. Passenger volume is similar, but the shorter HR-V has less cargo room.

Offered with front- or all-wheel drive and a six-speed manual or continuously variable automatic transmission, the HR-V comes in three trim levels: LX, EX... Read More