2017 QX50

Consumer Reviews

2017 INFINITI QX50

$18,028 - $26,364  MSRP Range
2017 INFINITI QX50

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

59 Reviews
92% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.8 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.5 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.5 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.6 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2017 INFINITI QX50?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 59 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

most well balance vehicle I ever owned.

by Psimon from Florida on Thu Nov 02 2017

I had the QX50 as a loner for one week and was blown away how well it drives. One the best engines ever made 0 to 60 at 5.5 sec pretty impressive. I absolutely love this car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Second Infinity

by Wigster from Virginia Beach, VA on Mon Jan 22 2018

This is my second Infinity. The first, a G35, I had for 16 years without any problems other than the famous window motor failures. The award-winning engine grew into the equally remarkable G37 engine, now used in the QX50. The performance of the QX50 is terrific, matching the styling well. The interior design is good, but I would have liked a bit more glove box-type storage. The trim, paint and overall finish is superb. We looked closely at the Discovery, the Evoke, and F-Pace as well, but settled on the QX50. I highly recommend it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This is my second Infiniti; first was an 08 EX35

by CondoCodey from Indio on Thu Sep 28 2017

Great car, performance and comfort!!! This is my second Infiniti purchase. First was an 08 EX35. Just acquired the 2017 QX50 and love it!!! I would definitely recommend this car to anyone who likes to drive a sporty cross-over with some HP and comfort. Tight suspension is great!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SAFE!

by Biz Doctor from Memphis, TN on Tue Feb 26 2019

The only issues I had with my 2017 Infiniti QX50 was the lack of a powered tailgate and it required premium gas. However, I have to say it was a VERY Well Built Vehicle! We had an accident (T-Boned, on the Passenger-side by a Honda CR-V traveling at 35-40 MPH). The Curtain and Passenger Chair Airbags deployed, but we walked away with a minor passenger arm bruise and a driver jammed-finger; even though that QX50 was damaged enough to be declared a Total Loss. Over the past 18 years, we have owned three Infiniti vehicles (2000 G20, 2012 G25, 2017 QX50) because we have a HIGH REGARD for the Infiniti Brand. Unfortunately, they did not have a mid-size SUV to replace the QX50 we lost in that accident.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Back to Infinity

by GEC from Tampa on Mon Dec 18 2017

After have a Lexus es for two years, it's great to be back to Infiniti! This car is very sporty, my only complaint is the visors, they block nothing with lots of space for sun interference, the cup holders (2) are really small and close together.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Luxury car at a great price!

by Teacher from Gurnee, IL on Fri May 31 2019

I am so please with the purchase of my QX50. Smooth ride, quiet and comfortable! I love it! I gave it only 2 starts for interior design because the cup holders are a joke. While I never thought twice about cup holders in the past, once you have ones that won’t fit ANY two beverages of any size, it becomes an issue. It is like they built the car and realized after the fact that they forgot to include cup holders, so they added them at the last minute.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
2 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very reliable vehicle that I own

by Sitzy from Brooks Alberta on Fri Jan 12 2018

This car has meet all my expectations. I’ve owned Japanese vehicles for almost 30 years now. I also have great success with there vehicles from good fuel mileage to awesome service from the dealerships. Will continue to buy Japanese vehicles.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my 2017 QX50

by Jana:D from Phx, Arizona on Tue Nov 13 2018

Fun to drive, very responsive and quick all the power you need went you ask for it. Very comfortable and no blind spots. Easy to learn and use the features and love the voice commands You can get directions for NAV while driving. Very reliable!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

This SUV drives smoothly, has great pick up, has

by LN from Gainesville on Wed Jan 02 2019

This is the perfect medium size car for 2-4. Plenty of leg and head room in the front and back.. Comfortable heated seats with lumbar support Only negative for me is bottled water bottle doesn't fit in door well

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

I love my new Infiniti!

by Schotzi on Wed Apr 18 2018

I love the way this car drives & the comfortable seating. The instruments are easy to read. The controls are intuitive & therefore easy to adjust without distraction. The only thing missing is ample console storage & no cup holder on the door.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6

Our Take on the 2017 INFINITI QX50

The verdict:


The 2016 Infiniti QX50 offers great value in a luxury SUV, with pleasant driving dynamics to boot, but buyers looking for the latest styles will want to shop other stores.

Versus the competition:


It's not as big inside as its competitors, but it offers one of the most powerful engines in its class as standard equipment. It doesn't nickel-and-dime you for the most basic options, and it feels luxurious inside. The extra length added for 2016 makes the backseat tolerable, but cargo capacity and fuel economy still come up short.

Editor’s note: This review for the 2016 Infiniti QX50 was written in January 2016, but little has changed for 2017. To see what’s new, click here, or to see a side-by-side comparison of the two model years, click here.

The Infiniti QX50 is a compact SUV built off the company’s entry-level rear-wheel-drive sedan, the Q50. It started life as the old EX35, then became the EX37 as its engine grew. Eventually, it ended up as the QX50 in Infiniti’s new nomenclature, in which every SUV is a “QX” followed by a number not related to its engine size.

The QX50 never sold in great numbers in the U.S., thanks in part to its very cramped backseat, but that’s been... Read More