2000 Camry

Consumer Reviews

2000 Toyota Camry

$852 - $6,156  MSRP Range
2000 Toyota Camry

Review Score

4.7 out of 5 stars

4.7

50 Reviews
100% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.6 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.8 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.9 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.1 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2000 Toyota Camry?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 50 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Never Had A Single Problem

by Toyota Fan from Rockland County, NY on Mon Apr 16 2012

Bought the XLE version new in 2000. Had it ever since. THE best car I ever owned. Aside from maintenance -- which has not been that much -- the car has never needed a mechanical repair. Most parts are still original. Have driven it from New York to Florida more than once and didn't even think about anything going wrong (as with previous cars I've owned).

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

20 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

One of the worlds most respected cars ON THE ROAD.

by CAMRY-LOVER from FT Lauderdale FL. on Wed Feb 13 2008

Few cars are as respected in the automotive world as the TOYOTA CAMRY. Since the CAMRYs introduction in 1983 it has earned a reputation for quality , comfort, and an exceptional reliability record. The fourth generation CAMRY{97-01} carried on this reputation. The ride is comfortable,the cabin is quiet, and both engine choices perform well and very efficiently. If possible try to find a CAMRY with the optional side impact airbags as for they improve the side crash test ratings considerably. Anti-lock brakes are standard on the LE and XLE but can be hard to find on the entry level CE model.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

"Most reliable car I've owned"

by Toyota Lover from Maine on Fri Jan 11 2008

This car was a great buy. I bought it used and it held up to it's job. It has great gas milage for an older year. The only thing that bugged me was the backseat was small. My kids didn't like that. Overall it was a good experience.

3 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

No complaints

by CindyfromCT from Middletown, CT on Sun Aug 05 2012

Bought my 2000 six-cyl. Camry LE new in 2001 and drove it about 10k miles per year. I had zero repairs until 2011 when the oxygen sensor failed which cost me about $300, but nothing else. Looking at replacing it with a Lexus next because I want to stick with Toyota but am looking for a little more luxury this time.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Work

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Awesome daily driver.

by unlvrebel from Las Vegas, NV on Wed Oct 18 2006

My camry does everything exactly the way it should; everything works, the car is bullet-proof reliable, and it gets me anywhere I want to go. The only problem is, the car is about as plain as an accounting convention. The car is adequately comfortable, but the seats could be more supportive and on frequent drives between Reno and Las Vegas my back begins to ache after 300 miles or so. The car performs well, however the car has serious body roll and is not meant to be driven like a sports car...but it is a camry, after all. The engine is surprisingly powerful and even more quiet considering its a basic 4 cylinder. Styling is again what you expect from a Camry. Everything is in the right place and theres plenty of creature comforts. The reliability is amazing and i've been very happy with the car so far. My only major complaint is that it goes through brakes almost annually. In the end this car has always been there for me and I will probably continue to buy toyotas for years to come.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Car

by Goangora from AZ on Sat Nov 02 2013

We have a 2000 Toyota Camry CE 4 cylinder Automatic. It has 175,000 miles on it. There are only a few things that are not perfect. The hood paint is flaking off, the gas peddle sticks sometimes on acceleration, the arm rests are separating on both sides and part of the underbelly is coming off. We get 26 mpg in the city. It has very fast acceleration if needed. A lot of get up and go power!!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Toyota Camry, Basically What I Expected

by SadeeqR from Silver Spring, MD on Wed Mar 07 2012

I purchased a 2000 Camry through cars.com from a Virginia resident. I was able to negotiate a lower sales price than that requested on line, but I also had to put close to $1,000 into the car to pass inspection. SInce getting the car a few months back, it's been a reliable, no-frills vehicle that I thought would get better mileage, though it's basically about 20 mpg in mostly city driving. Sometimes I wish I had gone for the used convertible I looked at, but I think I got good value for my money.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Reliable and Durable

by beebop from on Fri Apr 21 2017

This car has served loyally for 17 years, the Japanese really know how to make them to last! I used the car to commute downtown daily and it has done the job so well.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
2 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Excellent car

by Venkat from Syracuse New York on Sun May 20 2018

Excellent car seat and size comfortable safe drive condition clean leather seats family size car ac works good automatically works car works fine even though routes

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned.

by Chief from Torrance, CA on Thu Jun 14 2018

This car is owned by a military member and is completely reliable. Just needs a little TLC and a good family to take it in.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2000 Toyota Camry

I was dumbfounded. It was a TV commercial, an ad for a 2000 Toyota Camry sedan. A Camry was speeding along a series of roads and a male voice was intoning Right Said Fred lyrics: "I'm too sexy. . . . I'm too sexy. . . ."

Say what?

Did somebody change the meaning of sex? Did Toyota test consumer reaction to this car in a convent, rectory or monastery?

The car in the TV ad looked like a Camry, with a few minor tweaks front and rear. But "too sexy"? Perhaps. In the same way that PTA meetings are too sexy.

Weeks passed. A 2000 Camry LE sedan arrived. It was red. More precisely, it was what Toyota calls "vintage red pearl," a kind of creamy metallic maroon. The interior was tan with seats of cloth... Read More