NEW
Take our quiz & meet the car you’ll love.
2019 Highlander

Consumer Reviews

2019 Toyota Highlander

$31,830 - $47,510  MSRP Range
2019 Toyota Highlander

Review Score

4.4 out of 5 stars

4.4

199 Reviews
83% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.5 out of 5 stars Performance
4.9 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 Toyota Highlander?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 199 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Comfortable, quiet, loaded with electronics

by Lenny from Mc Dowell on Sun Apr 14 2019

The intermittent wipers have not worked and the voice prompts for the phone and navigation system do NOT work. All I get is platitudes and promises from the dealer that "a fix is on the way".

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

27 out of 27 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great car. Need the GPS problem resolved.

by WCoop from Fayetteville, NC on Mon Mar 25 2019

My 2019 Platinum Highlander Hybrid meets all of my needs, minus the GPS problem. After reading a few reviews, I did find one which provides a temporary solution. Using the "accessories only mode", you can press the START button without your foot on the brakes and set your GPS for your destination and press GO. You should hear the voice command at this step. Next start the vehicle as usual by pressing the START button a second time with your foot on the brakes. Boo-yah...you have voice until you turn your vehicle off.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Stylish, reliable SUV

by JimNY from wappimgers falls, NY on Sat Jan 26 2019

The 2019 Highlander is excellent. The 2nd row captains chairs were a major selling point; comfortably fitting our two high school aged sons and large dog. Tons of tech, only thing missing is a 'front view' camera to help with parallel parking proximity. Only owned for 1 month, so impossible to comment on reliability, but no foreseeable issues. Highly recommend test driving one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2003 Miles and THIS?!

by 2003 Miles and THIS?! from Phoenix on Fri Apr 19 2019

Entire stereo system and digital display are out, and have to be replaced. Parked driveway and got in to a blacked out system. So glad I needed the map for my day. Super thumbs up. Would I recommend? I’m going with maybe.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
1 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best suv I’ve ever had

by Hug a Bear learning from Indianapolis on Sat Jun 15 2019

I love my new 2019 highlander. I got it on 6-10-19 and it’s the smoothest riding vehicle that I’ve ever owned. So many features. We’re on our first road trip now as I’m maki this review❤️🙌🏾

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've ever owned.

by RIVASFAM from Las Vegas, Nv on Wed Feb 27 2019

I picked the xle with black leather interior and oh la la rouge mica exterior. I've received so many compliments on this color. I love everything about my Highlander. It is such a smooth, quiet ride.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Comfortable ride!

by jbob305 from Hornell, New York on Wed Feb 06 2019

Great ride and all the amenities! Plenty of room and the safety features provide extra road safety and a savings on the insurance!! Very pleased with the vehicle, two years of free Toyota Care maintenance and confidence in driving!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Work around for Nav/voice system. Love my hybrid

by Marambas from Wilmington, NC on Fri Jun 14 2019

I have the Platinum Hybrid. Meets all of my needs and we are a long time Toyota owner family. Like others extremely upset about the nav system. On toyonation I found a work around that works Everytime. PRESS THE START STOP BUTTON 2 TIMES WITH FOOT OFF THE BREAK, THEN PUT FOOT ON BREAK AND PRESS START BUTTON LIKE NORMAL. You have to do it at each start if you want nav/voice to work on each drive. But works Everytime. Hate having to do it, but now I can stop pulling my hair out! Try it!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most comfortable car I have driven

by Dzornes from Columbus, Indiana on Tue Feb 26 2019

I am very impressed with handilng, performance and comfort. The interior and design of the controls and accessories are very impressive. I would compaire this highlander to many of the top luxory SUV's I'm sold on Toyota from here on.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Good mid size SUV

by FloridaDriver from Naples, FL on Sat Jun 08 2019

I purchased a 2019 LE base Highlander and couldn’t be happier. Very quiet, roomy cabin, fits my two teenagers with lots of groceries and exterior is classy. The smaller four cylinder engine is adequate for my purposes and saved me a couple thousand dollars. Very smooth ride. Absorbs bumps nicely. Easy to drive. Electronics are good enough. Controls are simple and easy to use. AC in front and rear. AC very powerful, which I really appreciate in south Florida! New safety features are nice bonus. (Lane departure warning and collision avoidance). Adaptive cruise control works well. Overall, we really love this car! Kids can’t wait to go on our next road trip!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... 20