2019 X5

Consumer Reviews

2019 BMW X5

$36,817 - $91,663  MSRP Range
2019 BMW X5

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

49 Reviews
94% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.7 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.5 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.8 out of 5 stars Performance
4.7 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2019 BMW X5?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Most beautiful interior

by Tstar from Lynnwood wa on Sun Jan 06 2019

After looking at all the high end suvs out there I bought the X5. Love the interior buttons and touchscreen. It’s nice to have both. The smaller engine produces plenty of power. Ambient lighting is gorgeous inside at night. This suv has so many extra features and is way more modern than the Audi, Volvo and Mercedes we compared them to. But it you won’t regret it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Superb Handling, High Tech SUV

by Ducguy from Dallas, TX on Fri May 31 2019

I was considering an Audi A7, Mercedes Benz GLE, BMW X5, Infiniti QX60 and a Lexus GX. There was no comparison when it came to the ride quality, handling and Hi Tech options available. The BMX X5 out shines all the competition. It was as no wonder that Consumer Report said it was the best SUV they have ever tested. For 2019, it was the best SUV I have driven.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding refresh in 2019

by Hozo1 from CLE on Sat Jun 15 2019

Just got the new X5 to replace my 2017 one. Phenomenal update. The ride is immensely improved and the tech is outstanding. X5 has always been my favorite and this is no exception. Lots of tech to learn but love the digital key except Apple refuses to let BMW let my iPhone be a key. Hopefully that will change. Buried a lot of function into nesting but once you learn it, it's great. Great ride and the steering is excellent. I drove the new MB GLE, nice ride but basically a boat with no feel for the road. The Q7 also nice but needs updating in tech, especially the screen. Absolutely would recommend the ride and handling are superior.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2019 BMW X6 Almost Perfect

by ThirdX5 from WAKEFIELD on Wed May 01 2019

Very comfortable and performs great, interior is much nicer the my previous x5's. Dislikes are hidden odometer, can not disable engine shutoff and leave it off, not enough color choices.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

SUN Motors

by Tom from Greensburg, pa on Wed Mar 06 2019

The car sells itself! Great technical improvements. This model year is a great improvement over my 2016 x5. I live in Pittsburgh and was unhappy with the local BMW dealer. Purchased car at Sun Motors located in Mechanicsburg. Dennis Fisher was great ! Thank you!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Very nice SUV, strong and comfortable

by David from Los Angeles on Thu Dec 19 2019

This is my 2nd X5 the 1st was a 2008 X5 4.8 that was very nice. This time I have 2020 x5 4.0 xdrive this baby is a lot quicker and very nice without all the extras. I only got the comfort package and 21" wheels,paid $57,000 brand new, and love it

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

BMW got it right

by JoeM from Fort Worth on Fri Jul 19 2019

Having owned Audi, Volvo & Acura SUV's, I can say that BMW finally got the X% right. Real improvement in the technology and the interior, and yes, it does drive like a BMW should.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

my first Beamer

by Tridip Chakraborthy from Edison, NJ on Sat Sep 07 2019

im already a fan, kind of speechless right now with the transformation from a Honda to a Beamer, i always wanted to own a BMW and a SUV, so the X5 was just the car for me

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Has the most options

by Seattlegirl from Mill creek wa on Sat Jan 12 2019

Love this suv in the Phytonic blue color and the v8. So many options inside to configure how you want it. Love the wireless car play and charging tray, massage seats, heated steering and seats. I like that I can set up as an option to have it lock and Unlock upon approach. Great storage compared to Audi. Love all the usb/usbc outlets. Stereo system in b and Wilson edition is superb. The ride is quick, responsive and quiet. One of the quirks I’m not fond of or used to is the corrected steering,I had to turn it nearly off. It’s nearly scary if you go over even the slightest line in a road. I also wish all car makers would allow you to permanently turn off the auto start like Volvo has done. I’d like my heated steering and seats like my Audi to remain on after turning the car off and back on so I don’t have to push a bunch of buttons upon starting each cold morning. The laser headlights are gorgeous on any color. I don’t care for the crystal shifter. It’s gorgeous but it’s sharp feeling, not smooth like the free option. I like the look of the glass control knobs and would of just liked it to be standard. Hot and cold cup holders are a nice option and yes it maintains the warmth of the cup. It’s very loaded with modern options in comparison to the Audi, Volvo and Mercedes.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love the new X5

by SAHIL from MINNEAPOLIS on Mon Dec 03 2018

I was never a big fan of the X5 till i test drove the New 2019 model. They have re-done the entire interior as well as the software system. Its a great ride with a lot of extra features that come standard with it now. Very Spacious and has a nice zip to it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5