2001 F-150

Consumer Reviews

2001 Ford F-150

2001 Ford F-150

Review Score

4.3 out of 5 stars

4.3

49 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.5 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.4 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.2 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.2 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.4 out of 5 stars Performance
4.4 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2001 Ford F-150?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 49 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Great looks, dependable, as they say "Ford Tough!

by SC Diver from Seneca, SC on Mon Dec 26 2011

2001 was the first year of the Supercrew model and if you are carrying more than a a truck load of kids more than a short distance, this is the model for you. There is in essence the equivalent of a full size car inside with 4 full size doors as well as the carrying capacity of a truck. The styling changed on the 2004 models so it is a matter of personal preference as to which one you like but for me, the styling on the 2001 - 2003 models combined with the price you can get one for made the decision an easy one. The Supercrew offers adjustable pedals and other ammenities that make it well suited for all members of the family to drive. Overall, this is a solid truck with bold styling . . . .

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

37 out of 37 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Truck

by Canada Guy from Golden, BC on Sat Feb 23 2013

I bought this truck used in August 2012. It had about 228,000 km on it. I am now at 246,000 km. The engine is a 4.6L and is great on gas for a pickup. If you tow anything, fuel economy drops dramatically as does the power. Expect to fuel up every two hours of towing. It handles well on the highway. With the 4 door, I found great for getting our toddler in and out of the car seat. Lots of room for family. I took this out hunting last year as well in the fall, and I found it comfortable on the back roads. Best of all, no payments! You can find these used for minimal money and as long as the maintenance has been done, you should get years of use.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

32 out of 32 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

f-150 trition

by doylee from lakeland on Wed Feb 10 2010

this truck is the most bang for your buck and the engine is very relable the engines go for ever.i am at 150,000 miles later and runs like i bought it yesterday love ford would recomend it to any body good truck tough body. 4 and a half stars all around.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

2001 f150 supercrew

by great commuter from clairemont,san diego on Thu Jan 20 2011

bought this truck in 03 w/32000 mi.Always been reliable,& besides regular maintenace this has been a great truck.Didn't use for towing or regular off road,a few pleasure trips to the desert.Great truck for trips, very comfortable & lots of room.Has some light scratches in paints clear,most can be buffed out.This is a two owner truck.This truck is a must see...thanks for looking

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Great vehicle for a great price.

by W.Deubler from Spencerville, Ohio on Fri Jul 28 2017

Very depedable, nice looking truck. Safe enough to get my grandson back and forth to his Dr. Appointments 80 miles away one way. Im very glad I purchased it.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

A good work truck

by Vin from CO on Sat Jul 29 2017

This is a good work truck. Starts and runs great! I have owned it for some years and there was no issue at all.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best truck I ever had

by Diamondback Dave from Houston on Tue Aug 15 2017

Great truck, lots of muscle, very reliable and great looking truck! Never left me stranded and sits up high so I can see the whole road!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

3 out of 5 stars

Alright truck

by Supercrew Steve from Daytona, FL on Tue Aug 01 2017

A lot depends on how a vehicle was maintained. Unfortunately, the F150 Supercrew I bought was not maintained the best, leading me to have to do a lot of repairs (alternator, ball joints, shocks, tie rod ends, sway bar links, brakes). The 4.6L is a very reliable motor in itself. Though it is lacking on power. In regards to the vehicle itself, the paint is in decent shape (no peeling/fade), the rear is roomy (supercrew), the truck bed is shaped weird, making purchasing a toolbox for it very difficult (I miss my long bed), interior is holding up nicely except for the paint on the dash, which is pretty common in these trucks im seeing. Overall, if you can get one that was maintained well and you don't have a need for fast acceleration or towing big loads (mine can barely tow my 6000 lb travel trailer) you should enjoy it. You are able to find them relatively cheap now a days.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
3 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Very Reliable Vehicle 4X4 works great .

by GoChiefs from New Haven,Missouri on Mon Jan 08 2018

I used it mainly for scrapping metal and aluminum things for raising money. And I had take on many trips to Sedalia and once to Kansas City. I have many trips to St.Louis also with family and friends. So this was a very good truck .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Thirteen years of excellent service

by KenTwoTen from Harrison, Arkansas on Tue Oct 17 2017

This Ford F 150, powered by a V-8 was exactly what I needed for hauling and towing because it was a regular cab with a long bed. Nothing but regular service and one set of tires in the thirteen years I owned the truck and put another 55,000 miles on it. It had 96,000 miles on it when I replaced it with a 2013 Ford F-150. Very pleased.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Towing

Does recommend this car!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5

Our Take on the 2001 Ford F-150

Getting to normal for many Americans means going shopping. But for my wife and me, it means dumping what was bought. Maybe, next time, we'll buy less or we'll buy smarter. But the task of the moment is to clean house, clear basement, empty garage and haul away.

It is a time of whacked serendipity, thanks to the appearance of pickups on the test schedule. I've written before about my little wife from Texas and her big addiction to trucks, especially pickups. She practically salivates when one shows up in the driveway.

I think: "Nice truck." She thinks: "Hallelujah! We're going to get some work done this weekend."

That's not the worst of it. She tends to buy trucks. She was controllable when... Read More