2014 Terrain

Consumer Reviews

2014 GMC Terrain

$11,201 - $22,825  MSRP Range
2014 GMC Terrain

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

79 Reviews
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.6 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.6 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have you driven the 2014 GMC Terrain?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 79 reviews

4 out of 5 stars

Looked at several mid-sized SUV's

by DB from Bloomington, IL on Thu Apr 03 2014

I looked at many different small to mid-sized SUV's and I am thrilled with the 2014 Terrain. After reading and test driving all the different models, dollar for dollar the Terrain has my vote. If there was only 1 thing that could be better I think it would be that I had a 6cyl version not the 4 cyl. The reason for this is that it is a bit sluggish when taking off, that being the case you become aware of it and don't pull out in front of anyone. The ride and quietness of the interior on the open highway has been GREAT! I would look at getting another one in the future. Just an FYI here, I traded in a Mercury Mountaineer that was very ROUGH riding.......my wife and I are pleased with this purchase.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Strong, reliable and value for money.

by shoaibsmq from Edison, New Jersey on Fri Jul 28 2017

GMC Terrain is an amazing car. I bought a Certified Pre-owned GMC Terrain 2014 with 30k miles on it. It was an amazong decision. The stability of the car was remarkable. After 10 days of driving this car I got into a major car accident and was t-boned by a driver under influence. The impact deployed the side airbags. This car saved my life as I came out scratchless. The car is totaled but I am buying another GMC Terrain for the reason that it is super safe. Just a little hard on gas, but if thats okay with you, its an amazing car.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Great Little Car

by Busy Grandmother from Texas on Mon May 05 2014

Lots of technology to help me in traffic, backing and finding new stores, Easy to park and drive; small enough to get over 27 mpg in town. New auto dealers not to helpful finding car that satisfies my needs at a fair price; all want to sell a car today rather than satisfy your needs.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Love it...except

by SandiBW from Apopka, FL on Tue Aug 08 2017

I have like everything about the vehicle except that everyone that sits in the backseats complain they are hot, even when the a/c is running full blast. The air just doesn't reach the back seat and those sitting in the front are freezing trying to help those in the back seat! My car is a little over a year old and the a/c went out yesterday (8/7/17), it's still under warranty so that isn't a problem, but a hassle. It's a sharp looking SUV on the inside and out, gas mileage is an average of 24 mpg. (mostly city miles).

4 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
4 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does not recommend this car!!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable car I've owned.

by DavaLynn from Coxsackie, NY on Wed Jan 24 2018

This car met all of my needs. Plenty of legroom front and back. Very comfortable ride. Also has 3 USB ports and an awesome sounding radio.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Looks awesome

by luckysunshine from West allis , Wi on Fri Mar 24 2017

love the style and comfort, would totally recommend to others, just wished I had the luggage rack on it .

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

great car so far only 1000 miles

by ranumatic from Iron Range, MInn. on Tue May 13 2014

I researched several makes of small/medium crossovers,suv's , terrain seemed to win out. We love it!!!!!!!! great visibility and ingress/egress lots of room for 6ft. plus driver, back seating area is great.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Love it.

by Lakeldric..Atl from Largo on Tue Mar 21 2017

It's perfect for me.. I really love this vehicle and every thing about it.I found everything I was looking for in this vehicle

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best SUV We've Owned

by OhioLizard from Cleveland, OH on Sun Aug 20 2017

Car exceeded our wants and needs. Everything from cross country during the winter to local drives in the forest.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best car I've owned

by Black beauty from Martinsville indians on Wed Sep 10 2014

Love my suv. Very comfortable. Lots of room.good on road trips.gas mileage is good for a suv. I would recommend this to any one.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Just getting around

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Our Take on the 2014 GMC Terrain

Editor's note: This review was written in October 2012 about the 2013 GMC Terrain Denali. Little of substance has changed with this year's model. To see what's new for 2014, click here, or check out a side-by-side comparison of the two model years.

The 2013 GMC Terrain finally gets a proper V-6 engine option, but the new high-line Denali version doesn't distinguish itself enough from the crossover's other top trims.

Both the 301-horsepower V-6 engine and the Denali trim level are new to the Terrain for the 2013 model year. We experienced each in our all-wheel-drive test model, which had an as-tested price of $40,425 including an $825 destination charge. To compare the five-seat Terrain with competitors like... Read More