2016 CX-9

Consumer Reviews

2016 Mazda CX-9

$23,365 - $36,441  MSRP Range
2016 Mazda CX-9

Review Score

4.6 out of 5 stars

4.6

34 Reviews
97% of drivers recommend this car
Score Breakdown
4.7 out of 5 stars Comfort
4.6 out of 5 stars Value for the Money
4.8 out of 5 stars Interior Design
4.7 out of 5 stars Reliability
4.7 out of 5 stars Performance
4.8 out of 5 stars Exterior Styling

Have You Driven the 2016 Mazda CX-9?

Write Your Review
Write Your Review

What Drivers Are Saying

1 - 10 of 34 reviews

5 out of 5 stars

Awesomest SUV ever !

by AwesomeSauce from New York, NY on Thu Aug 04 2016

I used to have a certified 2006 Honda pilot, Loved it for the utility but it was not fun to drive, and it didn't' handle corners well at all... but that was my first car so loved it any way. I wanted to get a fun good looking car as my new car but my options were slim with all the clunky looking SUVs from Honda and Toyota. I was going to get the new pilot but a friend asked me to test the new CX9, in the past I really didn't like the Mazda designs when they were owned by Ford, but they changed their ways, now their design is my favorite. I finally got a Blue Cx9 Touring with the premium package (Bose audio, leather, sunroof, navigation) The car is super fun to drive, really sporty and powerful as long as you are not out there street racing it, taking off from a red light and passing cars on the highway gives you chills, the turbo really kicks in. The interior is what swept me off the feet, feels like an Audi, but for budget price. I once heard someone call it working man's BMW X5, really true.... The Bose audio is awesome if you get that option, worth it. They did a good job with sound proofing. Almost no road noise at all. Seating comfort is also nice, but the third row is not as comfortable as the Pilot for longer rides. The car looks amazing, first time hearing people call an suv sexy ! And the gas mileage is also good for an suv. I hear people complain about the infotainment system, i'm okay with it, I like it. Maybe setting radio stations takes too long, too much steps but I preset my favorite station anyway and my phone bluetooth works well with it so I really dont complain about it not having android auto. The center arm rest is a bit hard and might hurt your arm on longer rides, but I use a cushion for longer rides so it doesn't really bother me. I also liked it because it is a pure Japanese car, made in Hiroshima. So hopefully the Japanese reliability is still there and I will get to enjoy this car and use it for family activities for the next 10 years without much issues. Cheers.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

36 out of 36 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Biggest Bang For The Buck And Then Some

by Mechanically inclined, seldom new car purchaser from Franklin, TN on Fri Sep 02 2016

Test drove everything in its class from BMW, Mercedes, GM, Toyota, Nissan, Lexus, Infinity, Porsche etc. Bought the CX9 Signature. While the Porsche had a similar ride and better acceleration but a huge price tag comparatively. The interior in the Mazda ergonomically is awesome. Real wood trim with acoustic glass and 50 lbs of sound deadening in the floor made it a very quiet ride. The torque curve is optimized for the range we commonly drive with the tricked out turbo and had no turbo lag. The transmission shifts very smoothly. The cost to own is considerably less than Western European models. The exterior had the best lines. Sophisticated and classy, not bug like and not something that will look like an Aztec after a few years. I am not a gadget guy but the Signature model is loaded with them. Parking assist, back up camera, heads up display to name a few. Similar features on the Lexus adds $10,000 over the price of the top of the line Mazda with all the bells and whistles. Extended the factory bumper to bumper to 7 years and 120,000 miles due to being a newbie with all the electronics. So many gadgets in any car make me nervous. I can fix mechanical things myself but switching out a flat screen on the dash, a mouse on the center console, a back up camera or lane change sensor is not something I want to tackle yet. I got a deal on the warranty so was pretty reasonable. They squeeze a lot out of the 4 cylinder but it is not from screaming RPMs. There are a few really good video reviews on the engine technology and vehicle overall on YouTube. The safety ratings are not out yet but expected to come in 5 star. Love it so far.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

From Porsche to Mazda (Seriously)

by Dadmobile from on Sun Apr 23 2017

I'm a car enthusiast turned father and needed a comfortable, reliable SUV for long commutes. I researched this vehicle to death. I have a 2015 Porsche Cayenne, which is an excellent vehicle. I wanted something that was fun but also reliable and headache free-and didn't drain my checkbook with each service bill. After reading the stellar reviews from Car and Driver, I decided to take a look at the redesigned Mazda CX-9. The exterior design took a few takes for it to grow on me, but then I started to really dig it. It's stylish, aggressive and shark-like. I love the long hood and LED lights in the grille. The doors open wide and allow for easy access for child car seats (unlike most SUVs of this size). The interior is what brings this car into the luxury realm, especially in Signature trim (a worthy upgrade). Sitting in the cockpit, you wouldn't know that you weren't inside an Audi if it weren't for the badge on the steering wheel. The handling is superb. It's not a Porsche, but it's as close as you can get for the money. It has almost no body roll in the corners and feels solid and sure-footed in any weather. Plus, it is a hoot to drive, especially with sport mode engaged. I thought I'd address a few areas that others have complained about. 1. The third row. If you use a third row often then get a Suburban or minivan. I keep it folded down and this provides a ton of room in the cargo area. 2. The AC. I was worried about the reports of weak AC being hot natured, but it works perfectly fine. 3. Infotainment. Forget that this doesn't have Apple Car Play. It does the same thing but just doesn't mimic the screen on your phone. Bluetooth streams perfectly and quickly plays music from your smart phone. The voice activated function works well unlike most cars. The overall infotainment interface is excellent. It's intuitive and precise. I mainly use the rotary knob on the center console, but it also operates as a touch screen. This, along with the heads-up display, means you never have to take your eyes off the road. 4. The sunroof. Who cares that the sunroof is small? How often do you really use one? Had a panoramic roof on the Cayenne and the sun baked the interior. 5. Gas mileage. The gas mileage could be a little better, but who cares, it's fun!

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Updated review on winter performance.

by AwesomeSauce from New York, NY on Thu Mar 16 2017

I drove this thing on the snow during a blizzard with regular all season tires, and I mean is this thing awesome or what ! I was able to control the power to the engine by switching gear shift to manual from automatic, and it is so easy even someone without manual experience can do it. Never a single time did it fish tail or experience wheel spin, and ive seen new Nissans Muranos and Ford explorers in the ditch and stuck in snow, this one is a real champ ! Ride is super smooth and almost no cabin noise, you just sit back on heated seats, play the music on bose audio and enjoy the view, feelt confident like a pilot in a cockpit #littlethingsthatmatter.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

4 out of 5 stars

Decent for families with older kids

by caa3rd from Willowbrook on Thu Jan 19 2017

Bought it at the end of October. Took a long trip to Canada, average mileage went up from 19 mpg to over 24 mpg. Now averaging 23 mpg. Can fit 2 Ikea dressers in the back (not stacked), a 6 drawer and 3 drawer. Needs Android Auto for sure. Camera needs to be wiped off a lot. Rear seat is definitely for 1 kid or 2 real small kids. Can fit one big duffel bag behind 3rd row or 2 carry on size suitcases. Nice hidden under storage behind 3rd row. Thought would get better mileage with 4 cylinder, but AWD + winter probably doesn't make a good combo.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
3 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
3 out of 5 starsInterior Design
3 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
4 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Machine Gray Signature

by PasadenaPuck from Pasadena, MD on Tue Mar 21 2017

Best SUV in its class hands down, on par with some of luxury models in the likes of Audi Volvo BMW and Benz for considerably less cost.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
4 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
4 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Does recommend this car!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Exceeding All Expectations !

by SurfCitySenior from Huntington Beach on Wed Jul 19 2017

This is the first Mazda we've owned. This is an outstanding car for the money. Wonder how Mazda can provide all the electronic safety features like auto braking, lane departure and heads up display just to mention a few at such an affordable price. The styling , fit and finish, and quality is outstanding. We purchased the signature model which is beautifully appointed with Nappa leather and solid wood trim. Stainless steel trim also inside. Amazing interior at this or any price point. The ride is comfortable and works well with the well designed steering . Plenty of input about what the car is doing communicated to the driver. This is a car for people who actually enjoy driving. Plenty of power with responsive throttle. We have the All Wheel Drive and we are happy to have the extra margin of safety this feature offers. The CX-9 has three rows of seats. Nice. Last row comfortable however best for smaller riders for long journeys. We leave row three in the " down" position creating a huge amount of space for luggage or trips to the hardware store. Great valve. Highly recommended by this car guy.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
4 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a Used car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Best three row SUV under 50k

by Imironov from on Tue May 02 2017

Exterior design falls into the love it or hate it category. Personally, I think that majority of auto manufacturers, including almost all American, have got their heads deep in the wrong place when it comes to design. And it only seems to be getting worse. I love what is Mazda doing these days thogh, and unlike Koreans they did not cheap out on the inside. Ergonomically, cx9 is great with little things such as vent designed to blow toward the door handle so it stays warm in the winter. Hvac contrilols are a bit too low, but the the system is designed with set it and forget it mentality. Handling is great for the size, stable in turns. I had to get used to the sound of the turbo, this being my first, but I love both the power delivery and the sound now. Overall, back in 2016 and still now in 2017 I do not see a better three row SUV for the money.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Commuting

Does recommend this car!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

Family + sport car + Stylish

by family sexy car from ill on Tue Sep 05 2017

I have signature model ...looks beautiful and used to surprise every one setting inside the car, the engine is strong the seats are good for family with 5 adults and 2 children but still the third raw is excellent comparing with other big SUV. It has all the safety option with very nice light up screen on the front glass, exterior style is amazing...one comment is the engine voice is high inside the car when you accelerate.

4 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Transporting family

Does recommend this car!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

5 out of 5 stars

The best SUV ever own

by Zoom-Zoom CX-9 from Canton Ohio on Wed Nov 15 2017

We love our 2016 CX-9 Grand Touring. 2.5L w turbo is extremely powerful and never feel “weakness” driving both in city and on highway. Impressed comfortable and quiet cabin. Easy operation of infotainment system.

5 out of 5 starsComfort
5 out of 5 starsValue for the Money
5 out of 5 starsInterior Design
5 out of 5 starsReliability
5 out of 5 starsPerformance
5 out of 5 starsExterior Styling

Purchased a New car

Uses car for Having fun

Does recommend this car!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you?

Your feedback has been sent to Cars.com

Next
1 2 3 4

Our Take on the 2016 Mazda CX-9

The verdict: The 2016 Mazda CX-9 is one of the best-driving SUVs I’ve ever experienced. Families are likely to also appreciate the improved interior and added features, like rear USB ports, but a cumbersome multimedia system threatens to end all the fun.

Versus the competition: The CX-9 offers solid value and a better driving experience than the competition, but it lacks optional captain’s chairs.

Mazda’s largest vehicle, the redesigned seven-seat CX-9 midsize SUV, gets huge changes for 2016.

This is a redesign where nobody will have trouble telling the difference between generations. The updated CX-9 has sharper styling, better cabin materials and much-improved gas mileage. The CX-9... Read More